Lapworth stands down as Subaru boss?

Subaru World Rally team boss, David Lapworth has allegedly been forced to step down from his position at the head of the Banbury based squad.

Although few details are currently known, according to reports by norsk-rally.com, Lapworth has been replaced by Richard Taylor, who was previously the managing director at the Prodrive ran team. Lapworth however will still remain part of the set-up at least for now, in a less hands on role.

Whether the reports are true or not remains to be seen, however prior to the start of the season, Lapworth's job title was changed, from 'team principal' to 'performance director', as Taylor was brought in at the end of last season, to fill the void left by Nick Fry, who became the full-time team boss at BAR at the end of 2004.

If Lapworth has been given the boot, and it is very much an if at this stage, then he may have been made a scapegoat following the team's poor start to the season, which has seen their number one driver, Petter Solberg suffer mechanical issues on both the opening two events, something that has meant he has yet to score any points. Subaru meanwhile have scored just 8 points towards the manufacturers' championship to date - while Ford has notched up 26 points, Kronos Citroen 24 points and OMV Peugeot 10 points.

Crash.net meanwhile has attempted to contact the team for clarification and is awaiting an official response.

More to follow as we get it...

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
David Lapworth
Simone Tempestini (ITA) Matteo Charciossi (ITA), Subaru Impreza
Simone Tempestini (ITA) Mateo Chiarcossi (ITA), Subaru Impreza, WRC2 Production Cup winners
Simone Tempestini (ITA) Matteo Chiarcossi (ITA), Subaru Impreza
Simone Tempestini (ITA) Matteo Chiarcossi (ITA), Subaru Impreza
Gianluca Linari, Nicola Arena ( Subaru Impreza)
David Llewellin and Harri Toivonen. Rallyday 2014 [Pic credit: Andy Crayford - Crayfordmedia.com]
David Llewellin. Rallyday 2014. [Pic credit: Andy Crayford - Crayfordmedia.com]
Jeffrey David (AUS) Grant Geelan (AUS) Porsche 911
Marco Tempestini (ITA) Nicola Arena (ITA), Subaru Impreza
Marco Tempestini (ITA) Nicola Arena (ITA), Subaru Impreza
David Llewellin in Metro 6R4 (1980s) [Pic credit: Reinhard Klien]
Gianluca Linari (ITA) Nicola Arena (ITA), Subaru Impreza
Gianluca Linari (ITA) Nicola Arena (ITA), Subaru Impreza
Gianluca Linari (ITA) Nicola Arena (ITA), Subaru Impreza
Gianluca Linari (ITA) Danilo Fappani (ITA), Subaru Ipreza
Gianluca Linari (ITA) Danilo Fappani (ITA), Subaru Ipreza
Mark Higgins will drive the new JRM Subaru WRX

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.