Historic 100th points result for Ford.

Ford created a bit of history on the Rally of Turkey last weekend, when it became the first manufacturer since the launch of the World Rally Championship to notch up one hundred consecutive points' finishes.

The 'Blue Oval' did it in style as well as Mikko Hirvonen took the victory on the Kemer-based round, while Jari-Matti Latvala was second to give the M-Sport-run outfit its first one-two finish of the season.

Ford has now won 27 events - and gained 85 podium places - during the 100 rallies with the Focus RS WRC, with the run beginning back in 2002 on the Rallye Monte Carlo when Carlos Sainz finished third and the late Colin McRae claimed fourth.

"The consistency required in achieving 100 consecutive points finishes is remarkable as the WRC is the toughest competition in motorsport for production-based cars," said Ford of Europe motorsport director Mark Deans.

"It demanded an outstanding blend of speed, strength and reliability from the Focus RS World Rally Car as well as some sterling performances from the drivers behind the wheel.

"It's also a tribute to Malcolm Wilson and his team at M-Sport that has prepared and run the Focus RS WRC for all 100 rallies.

"I look forward to starting the second century in Finland in August."

In addition meanwhile, Ford's record breaking achievement was also recognised when it received the Abu Dhabi 'Spirit of the Rally Award', which goes to parties demonstrating the 'same values that the capital of the United Arab Emirates, Abu Dhabi, stands for; respect, innovation, integrity and teamwork'.

"For the Ford Focus RS World Rally Car to reach the unprecedented milestone of 100 consecutive points scoring finishes is a fantastic achievement for everyone connected with the team. Since January 2002, various driver, co-driver, crew and mechanic line-ups have all played their part in reaching this remarkable century," added BP Ford Abu Dhabi World Rally team director and M-Sport boss Malcolm Wilson.

"I would like to thank Abu Dhabi Tourism Authority for recognising the hard work and commitment of everyone at both Ford and M-Sport who have endeavoured to make the '100 not out' feat reachable."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Podium, Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) Jarmo Lehtinen(FIN), Ford Focus RS WRC07, BP Ford Abu Dhabi World Rally Team with Team
Abu Dhabi Spirit of the Rally Award winners, Lewis Booth and Malcolm Wilson. Turkey. 2008.
RX: World Rallycross, UK talent competition [Credit: FIA World Rallycross media]
James Grint - Albatec Racing
Robin Larsson will campaign a privately-run Audi in the 2015 FIA World Rallycross Championship
Rallye International du Valais, European Rally Championship [Credit: European Rally Championship]
Junior ERC: Chris Ingram, Peugeot UK [Credit: Chris Ingram Rally]
Tuthill Porsche, Circuit of Ireland Rally [Credit: Tuthill Porsche Media]
Volkswagen Motorsport, World Rallycross [Credit: FIA World Rallycross]
Jerome Grosset-Janin - Albatec Peugeot
Jerome Grosset-Janin - Albatec Peugeot
Petter Solberg, James May, Top Gear [Credit: FIA World Rallycross]
Ott Tanak at the finish of Rally Mexico, sporting swimming mask and snorkel. 2015. [Pic credit: M-Sport]
Simone Tempestini (ITA) Matteo Charciossi (ITA), Subaru Impreza
Rally Mexico girls

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.