Finland ups ante with over 100 entries.

The organisers of the Neste Oil Rally Finland have announced that they have received over 100 entries for their event, the ninth round in the World Rally Championship.

It means the 'Rally of the Thousand Lakes', as it was formerly known, is the most popular round to date this season, with Turkey the previous standard setter with 76.

In addition to the usual 'works' entries - such as Sebastien Loeb and Mikko Hirvonen, Finnish championship competitors Matti Rantanen and Jukka Hiltunen will both compete in Ford Focus World Rally Cars, bringing the total number of runners in WRC machinery to 22.

The Jyvaskyla-based round also qualifies as an event in both the FIA Production Car World Rally Championship and the FIA Junior World Rally Championship - the only round in this year's WRC with dual status.

18 PWRC crews have nominated it, with Finnish series regulars Juho Hanninen and Jari Ketomaa set to be joined by 'wild cards' Juha Salo and Jussi Valimaki. Current PWRC championship leader, Andreas Aigner has not nominated Finland as one of his six points' scoring events.

In the JWRC meanwhile 17 crews will be chasing points, including the 'wild card' entry of previous series regular Kalle Pinomaki.

"There are no less than 31 nationalities on the entry list. It is great to note that our 'Gravel Grand Prix' still has the pulling power, both internationally and domestically," Clerk of the course Kai Tarkiainen told the events in official website.

"It's the first time Jyvaskyla will be hosting all three world championship series. This promises more tight battles and action than ever before. We're in for an incredibly tight battle.

"I will especially keep a keen eye on Matti Rantanen and Jukka Hiltunen in their WRC mounts and naturally the Finnish Group N drivers, too. It'll be interesting to see how Ketomaa and Hanninen fare at home and what kind of opposition the 'wild card' entries of Salo and Valimaki can offer them."

The provisional list of accepted entries is due to be published later on this week on Friday July 4.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) / Jarmo Lehtinen (FIN), BP Ford Focus RS WRC 07. Rally Finland, August 2-5 2007 [PIC CREDIT: Ford/worldralypics.com]
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres
Robert Kubica
Dani Sordo (ESP) Marc Marti (ES), Hyundai I20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.