Sebastien Loeb has taken victory in the Rally New Zealand after a hugely eventful final day of competition saw him leap up from fourth to first in the space of just two stages.

With expected winner Mikko Hirvonen dropping to third with a puncture on the penultimate stage, Loeb was left to run out a comfortable winner, while Dani Sordo's second place sees Citroen record their second consecutive 1-2 finish.

With Jari-Matti Latvala and Francois Duval also retiring in the latter stages, Petter Solberg inherits fourth, ahead of Urmo Aava in fifth, Per-Gunnar Andersson sixth and Toni Gardemeister seventh.

Full report to follow