Subaru will run a second manufacturer team in the FIA World Rally Championship next season, it was announced on Friday.

The cars will be run by the Adapta World Rally Team, with Morton Ostberg acting as team principal. Initially, the deal is for Adapta to run two Impreza WRC2008s at the ten European events, with an option on the long-hauls to Argentina and Australia.

Mads Ostberg, the 2007 Norwegian Rally Champion, has been confirmed in one of the seats in the newly formed team, with Adapta still to finalise its second driver.

"The agreement will see the AWRT use two Subaru Impreza WRC2008s next year as an M2 team and we will look after the cars on the ten European events," Morton Ostberg told the official SWRT website.

"We also have the option of competing on the two overseas events. SWRT will be responsible for the logistics and AWRT will look after the cars on the events.

"The cars will be serviced adjacent to the SWRT service area. Adapta and SWRT will share their technical expertise and parts knowledge to form a common pool of knowledge, with the AWRT engineers focusing on our cars during events."

Mads Ostberg meanwhile will also contest the Norwegian Rally Championship next year in a Subaru Impreza WRC2007.

Mads has been taking in selected events this season in the WRC - as he did in 2007, when he finished eighth in Finland and scored his first, and thus far only, point at the 'senior' level.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment