Pirelli Star judges confirmed.

Pirelli has confirmed the identities of the six judges that will assess the 19 young hopefuls that will contest the Pan-European Pirelli Star Driver Shoot-Out this weekend in Austria.

The panel of experts will comprise former World Rally Championship stars, Walter Rohrl and Michele Mouton, as well as Autosport and Rallycourse editor, David Evans. Pirelli rally manager, Mario Isola will also take a place on the jury along with rally organiser, Joao Passos and Tommi Makinen Racing team manager, Kevin Morris.

The shoot-out will take place over two days with the two winners receiving a fully-paid drive on six rounds of the 2009 World Rally Championship in a Group N or Super 2000 car supplied and serviced under an FIA contract with a specialist preparation company.

The participating drivers, who have been selected by their respective national sporting authorities and comply with a strict age limit, being less than 27 years old on January 1 2009, has changed slightly since the initial list was released at the end of September.

Indeed Andreas Aigner (Austria), Martin Prokop (Czech Republic), Michal Kosciuszko (Poland) and Patrik Sandell (Sweden) have all been replaced as they were deemed too experienced to qualify.

Greece has also now nominated a candidate boosting the total to 17 drivers' from Europe. There is also two drivers' from the Americas (one from South America and one from Central America).

The full list of hopefuls is as follows:

Austria Franz Wittmann jr
Belgium Thierry Neuville
Bulgaria Todor Slavov
Codasur region Victor Galeano (South America)
Czech Republic Martin Semerad
Finland Jarkko Nikara
France Guillaume Canivenq
Germany Hermann Gassner
Greece Sotirhos Lefteris
Ireland Keith Cronin
Italy Simone Campedelli
Nacam region Benito Guerra Jr. (Central America)
Norway Sveinung Bielvedt
Poland Radoslav Typa
Portugal Antonio Rodrigues
Spain Yeray Lemes
Sweden Joakim Nyman
Turkey Emre Yurdakul
United Kingdom Adam Gould

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Pirelli truck
09.03.2017 - WRC drivers at
09.03.2017 - WRC drivers at
09.03.2017 - WRC drivers at
09.03.2017 - WRC drivers at
09.03.2017 - WRC drivers at
WRC drivers
WRC drivers
WRC Drivers 2017
WRC Drivers 2017
Sebastien Ogier secures fourth WRC Drivers` title with Rally Catalunya win [Pic credit: Volkswagen/ El Mokni]
Hayden Paddon`s burnt out Hyundai i20 WRC. Rally de Portugal 2016 [Pic credit: Jaanus Ree/Red Bull Content Pool]
John Kennard poses for a picture next to his and Hayden Paddon`s burnt out Hyundai i20 WRC. Rally de Portugal 2016 [Pic credit: Jaanus Ree/Red Bull Content Pool]
03.03.2016 - Pirelli Tyres
03.03.2016 - Pirelli Tyres

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.