Hirvonen fastest in Rally Ireland shakedown

BP Ford Abu Dhabi's Mikko Hirvonen set the pace on Thursday morning in the shakedown for the Rally Ireland, the opening round in the 2009 World Rally Championship.

Mikko completed the 2.87 kilometre test stage near Lisduff, 5.97 kilometres from the service park in Sligo, in 1 minute 38 seconds, 0.4 seconds up on pre-event favourite and five-time world rally champion Sebastien Loeb.

"The morning went well, but the stage was very fast and narrow,” said Seb. “It would have been easy to make a mistake. My car is competitive and we feel confident. As usual, our aim is to win, especially here, on the first round of the championship."

Chris Atkinson meanwhile was third, ahead of his debut outing with the Citroen Junior Team, 0.2 seconds off Loeb and 0.4 seconds up on Dani Sordo.

"The conditions were very slippery, but we're perfectly ready for the start,” noted Atkinson. “I feel good in the car, although it's always difficult to know exactly where you stand until you've got at least the first stage behind you."

"We made two or three changes,” added Sordo. “The conditions were very slippery, so we didn't take any risks. I can't wait for the rally to start and I would love to kick off the year with a podium finish."

Further down the order, Jari-Matti Latvala was fifth, followed by Stobart Ford duo Matthew Wilson and Urmo Aava and Khalid Al-Qassimi.

Henning Solberg and Conrad Rautenbach rounded out the top ten, with Sebastien Ogier eleventh.

"This morning was just the shakedown. The test stage was very greasy and quite a handful,” noted Ogier, who recently won the Rallye Monte Carlo. “I think there's a good chance we will see some big gaps open up on this event. For the time being, the main thing for us is to find our marks."

The Rally Ireland now continues later on today with the ceremonial start at 19.30 hours at Enniskillen Castle.

The action then begins proper on Friday with eight stages on the bill, totalling around 165 competitive kilometres. SS1, the 22.25 kilometre run through Glenboy 1, begins at 08.13 hours [all times local].

Leading shakedown times:

1. Mikko Hirvonen BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 08 1min 38.0secs M
2. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC 1min 38.4secs M
3. Chris Atkinson Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC 1min 38.6secs MT
4. Daniel Sordo Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC 1min 39.0secs M
5. Jari-Matti Latvala BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 08 1min 39.7secs M
6. Matthew Wilson Stobart Ford Focus RS WRC 08 1min 39.9secs A8
7. Urmo Aava Stobart Ford Focus RS WRC 08 1min 40.9secs MT
8. Khalid Al Qassimi BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 08 1min 41.1secs A8
9. Henning Solberg Stobart Ford Focus RS WRC 08 1min 41.4secs MT
10. Conrad Rautenbach Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC 1min 41.7secs MT
11. Sebastien Ogier Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC 1min 42.4secs A8

M - denotes Manufacturer entry.
MT - denotes Manufacturer Team entry.

all times unofficial

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) Ford Focus RS WRC 07

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.