Loeb fastest in Rally Norway shakedown

Citroen's Sebastien Loeb set the pace on Thursday morning in the shakedown for the Rally Norway, the second round in the 2009 World Rally Championship.

Loeb completed the 3.35 kilometre stage near Nydal, 9 kilometres from the service park in Hamar, in 1 minute 59.3 seconds, 0.4 seconds up on Mikko Hirvonen, who won this event the last time it was run in 2007.

Daniel Sordo meanwhile was third, just 0.1 seconds further back, while Jari-Matti Latvala and Petter Solberg completed the top five, the latter of course making his debut this weekend with his own team in his privately entered Citroen Xsara WRC.

Further down the order, Petter's brother, Henning, was sixth followed by his Stobart Ford team-mates, Matthew Wilson and Urmo Aava.

Per-Gunnar Andersson and Anders Grøndal rounded out the top ten, with Sebastien Ogier eleventh.

The Rally Norway now gets underway later on today with SS1, the short 2 km super special stage in Oslo, starting at 20.04 hours.

The action then begins 'proper' on Friday with eight stages on the bill, totalling around 124 competitive kilometres. SS2, the 14.98 kilometre run through Opaker 1, begins at 09.05 hours [all times local].

Leading shakedown times:

1. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC 1min 59.3secs M
2. Mikko Hirvonen BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 1min 59.7secs M
3. Daniel Sordo Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC 1min 59.8secs M
4. Jari-Matti Latvala BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 2mins 00.0secs M
5. Petter Solberg PS WRT Citroen Xsara WRC 2mins 01.1secs A8
6. Henning Solberg Stobart VK Ford Focus RS WRC 2mins 02.1secs MT
7. Matthew Wilson Stobart VK Ford Focus RS WRC 2mins 02.8secs A8
8. Urmo Aava Stobart VK Ford Focus RS WRC 2mins 03.0secs MT
9. P-G Andersson Skoda Fabia WRC 2mins 03.3secs A8
10. Anders Grøndal Subaru Impreza WRC 2mins 03.7secs A8
11. Sebastien Ogier Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC 2mins 03.9secs A8
12. Conrad Rautenbach Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC 2mins 04.5secs MT
13. Mads Østberg Adapta AS Subaru Impreza WRC 2mins 04.9secs A8
14. Evgeny Novikov Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC 2mins 07.8secs MT

M - denotes Manufacturer entry.
MT - denotes Manufacturer Team entry.

all times unofficial

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastian Loeb (F) Citroen C4 WRC

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.