Safari will be on IRC schedule

Intercontinental Rally Challenge organisers have revealed that the KCB Safari Rally will be included on the 2009 schedule despite the fact that several leading teams have elected to miss the African event.

Based in the Kenyan capital Nairobi, the rally will take place from 3-5 April, and will also host the second round of the FIA African Rally Championship. It last appeared on the IRC in 2007, when it formed the opening round of the series.

This season will herald the 57th running of the rally. 

The rally will begin with a spectator stage in Nairobi on Friday April 3. For the first leg, crews will then head out to Nakuru and the Lake Elementaita region. The second leg will be based close to Nairobi around the small town of Athi River. The finishing ceremony is due to take place on Sunday April 5. 

“The Safari Rally is a very famous event and very important to the IRC,” IRC general manager Marcello Lotti said. “It will be included on the calendar but we understand some of the teams won't be taking part. We understand this and we won't be forcing them to do so." 

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Anton Alen in action on Rally de Curitiba [Pic credit: IRC]
Alister McRae. KTM 500 EXC. Australasian Safari 2013.
Alister McRae. KTM 500 EXC. Australasian Safari 2013.
Harry Hunt secures the IRC 2WD Cup for a second time. Cyprus Rally [Pic credit: IRC]
Andreas Mikkelsen and Ola Fløene celebrate in Cyprus after winning IRC title #2 [Pic credit: IRC]
Cyprus Rally winner Nasser Al-Attiyah on the podium with Andreas Mikkelsen [2nd] and Toshi Arai [3rd] [Pic credit: IRC]
Nasser Al-Attiyah /Giovanni Bernacchini. M-Sport Ford Fiesta RRC. Cyprus Rally. [Pic credit: IRC]
Jan Kopecky - Škoda Fabia Super 2000
Giandomenico Basso - M-Sport Ford Fiesta RRC
Federico Gasperetti - Renault Mégane RS
Craig Breen wins Colin McRae Flat Out Trophy in Sanremo
Alessandro Perico - Peugeot 207 S2000
Giandomenico Basso - M-Sport Ford Fiesta RRC
Jan Kopecky - Škoda Fabia Super 2000
Paolo Andreucci - Peugeot 207 S2000
Petar Gyoshev. Mabanol Sliven Rally [Pic credit: IRC]
Dimitar Iliev. Mabanol Sliven Rally winner [Pic credit: IRC]
Dimitar Iliev. Mabanol Sliven Rally [Pic credit: IRC]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.