BP Ford Abu Dhabi team leader Mikko Hirvonen has taken the victory on the Acropolis Rally of Greece.

Hirvonen went into the final leg on Sunday with more than a 1.5 minute advantage after his main rivals, namely Sebastien Loeb, Dani Sordo and Petter Solberg all had problems on day two and fell by the wayside.

The Finn then paced himself through the final stages, which included two runs over the monster 33.00-kilometre Aghii Theodori test. SS16 was cancelled due to spectator problems.

Hirvonen eventually took P1 by 1 minute 12.9 seconds - the first time he has taken 'gold' since the Rally Japan at the end of last season. The result was perfectly timed as following Loeb's exit it means he cuts the gap to the Frenchman in the race for the 2009 drivers' title from 17 points to 7.

Sebastien Ogier meanwhile notched up his best ever WRC result with the runners-up spot, despite a scare this morning in SS14 when he crashed into a cow and damaged the front of his Citroen C4 WRC.

Jari-Matti Latvala completed the podium and ensured the BP Ford Abu Dhabi WRT took the maximum manufacturers' points, as Ogier is not registered for the Citroen Junior Team.

Latvala had been in the lead until an error in the final test on Friday. That dropped him from first to eleventh, but he stormed back on day 2 and was over-the-moon with P3.

Federico Villagra and Conrad Rautenbach were fourth and fifth respectively, while Khalid Al-Qassimi came in sixth.

Full report and result to follow...


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment