Novikov, Rautenbach raring to go

Citroen Junior Team duo Evgeny Novikov and Conrad Rautenbach can't wait for Rally Poland this week, the eighth round in the 2009 World Rally Championship.

Novikov and Rautenbach both went pretty well earlier this month in Greece, with the latter finishing fifth, while the former was in P4 and looking strong, until transmission problems on the final day cost him more than 15 minutes and dropped him to 16th.

Novikov still had a lot to be happy about though, as he posted his first WRC stage win on the Friday - and then took an additional three on day two.

The 18-year-old, whose potential is becoming increasingly clear, is now hoping once more to show off his talent.

"Rally Poland is a new event for everyone and a great opportunity for us to show our speed," commented the Russian, who scored his first WRC points in Sardinia. "I can't wait to get to the start so that we can continue making progress."

Rautenbach meanwhile is also very enthusiastic and he too will be out to score, something he has managed three times already this year.

"I don't know Poland at all and I know the rally even less," added the Zimbabwean. "From what I have understood, the roads there are going to be quick.

"If the route looks anything like Finland then I'll be very happy, because I love those types of roads.

"We learnt a lot in Greece and I really can't wait to get stuck back into the action again this week!"

For the record, as was the case in Sardinia and Greece, Rautenbach and Novikov have both been nominated to score manufacturer points in Mikolajki, while Sebastien Ogier will drive the 'third' Citroen Junior Team car.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Evgeny Novikov (RUS) Dmitry Chumak (RUS), Citroen C4 WRC, Citroen Junior Team
Conrad Rautenbach (ZW), Evgeny Novikov (RUS) and Sebastien Ogier (F)
Conrad Rautenbach (ZW) Daniel Barritt (GB), Citroën C4 WRC, Citroen Junior Team
VW 2014 WRC title win in numbers
Sebastien Ogier collects his WRC champion`s trophy at the FIA Prizegiving in Doha
Sebastien Ogier and VW celebrate at the FIA Prizegiving
Robert Kubica at the Monza Rally Show
Ford Olsbergs MSE celebrates winning the RX Teams` Championship
Liam Doran
Teams line up for FIA World Rallycross
Teams line up for FIA World Rallycross
Nasser Al-Attiyah - Mini ALL4 Racing
Jari Ketomaa (FIN) Kaj Lindstrom (FIN), Ford Fiesta R5, WRC2 winners

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.