Stohl wins in Mexico, Spain takes Nations cup

Manfred Stohl has taken the victory following the three-day Rally of Nations event this weekend, being run to cover Mexico's absence from this year's World Rally Championship calendar.

Stohl began the extremely short final leg, which included just two stages - the 17.94 kilometre Comanjilla 3 test and a fifth run through the short 4.42 kilometre Scotiabank super special, 7.5 seconds up on his fellow countryman and Team Austria colleague, Andreas Aigner.

In the end though the former OMV-backed man and ex-WRC regular managed to almost double his advantage and he took the spoils by 14.4 seconds.

"There's nothing bad to report," said Stohl. "We were a little worried about the engine [at the start of the day], but it was okay. I'm very happy I finished."

"It was a very good competition," added Aigner. "I felt I was going too fast but driving well. I hope it was a good show for the spectators."

Despite finishing one-two though, Stohl and Aigner were unable to stop Xavier Pons and Dani Sola from taking the honours for Spain in the 'Rally of Nations' competition.

Indeed Team Spain won ten of the events 18 stages and finished with 1067.5 points - 128 ahead of Austria, who only took four stages wins. France came in third with 714 points, followed by Germany (542.5), Sweden (442.5) and Mexico '2' (320).

Meanwhile 1994 World Rally champion Didier Auriol was third in the overall classification, albeit more than 1.5 minutes off Aigner: "Everything's fine, it's really nice to run here and finish the event in the SSS," said Auriol. "It's a great show for the people that come to see it."

Further down the order, ex-Subaru and Kronos Citroen WRC man Xavier Pons was fourth, 28.7 seconds further back, while Mark Wallenwein and Hermann Gassner Jr were fifth and sixth for Germany.

Tagged as: Spain , Mexico , Aigner , Rally of Nations , Pons , Sola

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Petter Solberg at the Rally of Nations. Start ceremony. [Pic credit: Corona Rally Mexico]
Rally of Nations. Start ceremony. [Pic credit: Corona Rally Mexico]
Andreas Aigner. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo. Rally of Nations 2009. [Pic credit: Corona Rally Mexico]
Dani Sola. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo. Rally of Nations 2009. [Pic credit: Corona Rally Mexico]
Manfred Stohl. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo. Rally of Nations 2009. [Pic credit: Corona Rally Mexico]
Volkswagen celebrates 2015 Monte Carlo 1-2-3 [credit: VW Media]
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.