Citroen to continue in WRC too

Citroen has confirmed that it will continue to compete in the World Rally Championship in 2010 and 2011.

In an announcement ahead of the Neste Oil Rally Finland this weekend - coming just hours after Ford also said it would remain for a further two seasons - the French manufacturer noted that the decision to stay was based on the fact 'world rallying forms an inherent part of its DNA', allowing it to 'showcase its principle of creative technology'.

Furthermore having racked up four manufacturers' titles, five drivers' world championships and 58 victories the team's crews have demonstrated Citroen's 'performance, quality and desire to succeed all over the roads and special stages of the world', added the Total-backed outfit.

"In the current tricky financial climate, it is important to keep on expressing ourselves through motorsport and through the victories of our teams and cars," continued Olivier Quesnel, the director of Citroen Racing.

"The FIA World Rally Championship, where the costs remain contained, is an excellent promotional vehicle.

"Citroen Racing is delighted by the trust that has been placed in us by Citroen's board of directors and the PSA Group."

Meanwhile Citroen are hopeful that Sebastien Loeb and Dani Sordo will both remain in 2010, despite speculation that the former could switch to F1 with Scuderia Toro Rosso.

"We are currently working with our existing driver line-up to renew their contracts," Quesnel added.

"I am confident that Sebastien Loeb and Dani Sordo will be continuing their adventure with Citroen Racing into the future."

Unlike Ford however, which said it would use the Focus WRC next year and then switch to the Fiesta S2000 in 2011, Citroen did not reveal its successor for the Citroen C4 WRC.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën C4, Citroën Total World Rally Team and Olivier Quesnel (FRA)
Olivier Quesnel (FRA), Citroën Total World Rally Team
Olivier Quesnel (FRA), Citroën Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (fra) Daniel Elena (mc) Citroen C4 Wrc - Citroen Total WRT
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres
Robert Kubica

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.