Latest WRC points standings - UPDATED

Mikko Hirvonen extends his lead in the battle for the 2009 WRC drivers' crown after inheriting the victory on the Rally Australia, round ten in the series.

Hirvonen now enjoys a 5 point cushion over Sebastien Loeb, who dropped to second after being handed a 1 minute penalty post-event.

Meanwhile in the Manufacturers' championship Citroen sees it lead over Ford cut from 14 points to 13.

2009 World Rally Drivers' Championship (after 10 of 12 rounds) – REVISED AFTER CITROEN PENALTIES:

1. Mikko Hirvonen BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 78 points
2. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC 73 points
3. Daniel Sordo Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC 50 points
4. Jari-Matti Latvala BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 36 points
5. Henning Solberg Stobart Ford Focus RS WRC 29 points
6. Petter Solberg PS WRT Citroen Xsara WRC 25 points
7. Matthew Wilson Stobart Ford Focus RS WRC 23 points
8. Sebastien Ogier Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC 20 points
9. Federico Villagra Munchi's Ford Focus RS WRC 15 points
10. Conrad Rautenbach Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC 8 points
11. Mads Ostberg Adapta Subaru WRC 7 points
12. Khalid Al Qassimi BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 6 points
13. Chris Atkinson Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC 4 points
= Evgeny Novikov Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC 4 points
= Matti Rantanen Munchi's Ford Focus RS WRC 4 points
16. Krzysztof Holowczyc Stobart VK Ford Focus WRC 3 points
17. Jari Ketomaa Ketomaa WRT Subaru Impreza WRC 2 points
18. Nasser Al-Attiyah Subaru Impreza N14 1 point
= Urmo Aava Stobart VK Ford Focus RS WRC 1 point
= Lambros Athanassoulas Skoda Fabia S2000 1 point

2009 World Rally Manufacturers' Championship (after 10 of 12 rounds) – REVISED AFTER CITROEN PENALTIES:

1. Citroen Total WRT 133 points
2. BP Ford Abu Dhabi WRT 120 points
3. Stobart VK M-Sport Ford RT 69 points
4. Citroen Junior Team 37 points
5. Munchi's Ford WRT 21 points

2009 Junior World Rally Championship (for drivers) (after 7 of 8 rounds):#

1. Martin Prokop Citroen C2 S1600 46 points
2. Michal Kosciuszko Suzuki Swift S1600 42 points
3. Aaron Burkart Suzuki Swift S1600 35 points
4. Kevin Abbring Renault Clio R3 22 points
5. Simone Bertolotti Suzuki Swift S1600 18 points
6. Yoann Bonato Suzuki Swift Sport 16 points
= Hans Weijs Jr Citroen C2 S1600 16 points
8. Alessandro Bettega Renault Clio R3 14 points
9. Luca Griotti Renault Clio R3 10 points
10. Kalle Pinomaki Renault Clio R3 8 points
11. Mark Wallenwein Renault Clio R3 4 points
12. Radoslaw Typa Suzuki Swift S1600 3 points

2009 Production Car World Rally Championship (for drivers) (after 7 of 8 rounds)*:

1. Armindo Araujo Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 42 points
2. Nasser Al-Attiyah Subaru Impreza N14 31 points
3. Martin Prokop Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 29 points
4. Patrik Sandell Skoda Fabia S2000 28 points
5. Eyvind Brynildsen Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 22 points
6. Toshi Arai Subaru Impreza 17 points
7. Andis Neiksans Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 11 points
8. Lambros Athanassoulas Skoda Fabia S2000 10 points
9. Patrik Flodin Subaru Impreza WRC STi 9 points
10. Marcos Ligato Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 8 points
= Gianluca Linari Subaru Impeza STi 8 points
= Richard Mason Subaru Impreza WRX STI 8 points
13. Frederic Sauvan Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 6 points
= Cody Crocker Subaru Impreza WRX STI 6 points
15. Spyros Pavlides Subaru Impreza N14 5 points
= Gabor Mayer Subaru Impreza 5 points
17. Mark Tapper Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 4 points
= Bernardo Sousa Fiat Grande Punto S2000 4 points
= Stewart Taylor Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 4 points
20. Jaromir Tarabus Fiat Grande Punto S2000 3 points
= Charalambos Timotheu Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 3 points
22. Guarav Singh Gill Subaru Impreza WRX STi 2 points
23. Martin Semerad Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 1 points

* Araujo is provisionally the 2009 P-WRC champion, subject to the outcome of an appeal lodged by the Barwa Rally Team against Nasser Al-Attiyah's exclusion from the results of the Acropolis Rally of Greece.

# Note: Rally Australia did not count as part of the 2009 Junior World Rally Championship.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) Jarmo Lehtinen(FIN) Ford Focus RS WRC09, BP Ford Abu Dhabi World Rally Team

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.