To celebrate the inaugural RACMSA Rally of Scotland, which runs from November 19-21, organisers have resurrected one of rallying's most prestigious historic awards, 'The Sun Trophy'.

The trophy was previously given as the top prize for the RAC Rally and now the winner of Scotland's first ever round of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge will get the chance to make their mark in history.

The esteemed award has been on display at the headquarters of the Motor Sports Association since 1968, when it was last presented to Finnish winner Simo Lampinen. It will be awarded to a winning driver for the first time in more than 40 years at the Rally of Scotland's Ceremonial Finish on Saturday November 21, which is taking place at the majestic Stirling Castle. The ceremony will be free for spectators and will include a large screen showing all the action from the rally as well as commentaries and interviews from all the crews.

The winner of The Sun Trophy will have their name go down in history when it is engraved onto the base of the award, along with the Rally of Scotland logo.

Further honour will be bestowed upon the winner, with the knowledge that the solid silver trophy - which has been valued at about ?20,000 - will then be put back on permanent display at the Motor Sports Association alongside awards emblazoned with the names of the greatest drivers in British motorsport.

"This award is linked to a long history of rallying success and prestige and its presentation will be a fitting end to a thrilling rally season and the inaugural Rally of Scotland," said Andrew Coe, chief executive of International Motor Sports Ltd.

"It is such an honour, both for us to be able to present the trophy and for the driver who receives it."

The Rally of Scotland forms part of Homecoming Scotland 2009 and was secured for Scotland through a partnership of EventScotland, Perth and Kinross Council and Stirling Council.