The FIA has announced that the World Rally Championship will adopt the same scoring system as F1 for the 2010 season.

The change will come into effect immediately and will see the top ten finishes scoring points on each event during the season.

The decision was taken following a fax vote involving the World Motor Sport Council and WRC entrants and will see points awarded on the following scale: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-5-4-2-1.

The system will also be used in the Junior, Production and S2000 WRC title battles.

While the new system gives more reward to the winner of each event, it wouldn't have changed the result of the 2009 title battle, although Sebastien Loeb's margin of victory over Mikko Hirvonen would have increased from one point to nine.

The only change within the top ten of the standings would have seen Petter and Henning Solberg score the same number of points - 86 - for a tie of fifth in the standings. Petter scored two points more than his elder brother under the outgoing system.