Meeke takes early lead in Argentina

Kris Meeke leads into the opening day proper in Argentina after topping superspecial stage
Kris Meeke will take a slender lead into the first day proper of Rally Argentina after topping the times on the opening superspecial stage through the streets of Carlos Paz on Friday.

In front of a capacity crowd of 12,000 fans, Meeke completed the all-asphalt 3.30-kilometre course, held in wet conditions, in a time of 2min 32.8sec at the wheel of his Peugeot UK 207 Super 2000, giving him a lead of 1.4secs heading into stage two. 

"It was a good enough run through but it's one of those stages when you can lose everything, particularly when the rain came in,” he said “It was impossible to judge the grip so we might have been a bit wrong to have shaved our tyres so much. The fans were incredible, I really enjoyed it."

Bruno Magalhaes, in his Peugeot Portugal 207, was second fastest having recovered from illness in the lead up to the rally, while Guy Wilks completed the top three as the highest-placed Skoda Fabia driver. 

Intercontinental Rally Challenge leader Juho Hanninen, who was paired against Meeke on the street course, was fourth fastest in the first of two factory Fabias. His time was identical to that of team-mate Jan Kopecky, who was classified fifth. 

Juan Manuel Marchetto was the leading Argentine driver in sixth overall in his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, with countryman Federico Villagra seventh. However, Villagra will face an anxious wait to learn if his M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000 can be restored to full working order after he reported a problem with his car's gearbox at the end of the stage. 

Saturday's action features seven stages with the opening 16.57-kilometre Las Bajadas-Villa Del Dique stage getting underway at 08:13hrs local time.

Nasser Al-Attiyah, who is tenth overnight, will be the first to tackle the stages in his Fabia. Hanninen will go second with Wilks third, Villagra fourth and overnight leader Meeke fifth.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Kris Meeke - Peugeot UK [Pic credit: IRC]
Pierre Louis Loubet (FRA) Citroen DS3 R5
Karl Kruuda (EST) - Martin Jarveoja (EST) Ford Fiesta R5, Drive Dmack Trophy Team
Yoann Bonato (FRA) - Denis Giraudet (FRA) Citroen DS3 R5
Lorenzo Bertelli (ITA)-Simone Scattolin (ITA) Ford Fiesta RS WRC, FWRT
Lorenzo Bertelli (ITA)-Simone Scattolin (ITA) Ford Fiesta RS WRC, FWRT
Quentin Gilbert  (FRA) - Renaud Jamoul (BEL) Citroen DS3 R5
Teemu Suninen (FIN) - Mikko Markkula (FIN) Skoda Fabia R5, Team Oreca
Marcos Sebastián Ligato (ARG) - Rubén Francisco Garcia (ARG) Citroen DS3 WRC
Khalid Al Qassimi (ARE) Crhis Patterson (GBR), Citroen DS3 WRC, Abu Dhabi Total WRT
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)-Anders Jaeger (NOR) Volkswagen Polo, Volkswagen Motorsport II
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)-Anders Jaeger (NOR) Volkswagen Polo, Volkswagen Motorsport II
Craig Breen (IRE) - Scott Martin (GBR) Citroen DS3 WRC, Abu Dhabi Total World Rally Team
Kris Meeke (GBR)-Paul Nagle (IRL) Citroen DS3 WRC, Abu Dhabi Total World Rally Team
Mads Ostberg (NOR) - Ola Floene (NOR) Ford Fiesta RS WRC, M‐Sport World Rally Team
Mads Ostberg (NOR) - Ola Floene (NOR) Ford Fiesta RS WRC, M‐Sport World Rally Team

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.