Jari-Matti Latvala has taken the provisional lead on the Jordan Rally following the opening loop this morning, although he may drop back to second behind Dani Sordo having picked up a 10 second penalty.

Latvala was quickest through the opening two tests, but along with Petter Solberg was unable to get to the start of SS3 - the 20.44 kilometre-run through Mahes 1 - on time. Both subsequently picked up 10 second penalties, although they have yet to be applied to the overall times.

"I got a 10-second penalty for being late. That is how it is. The road section was tight and I will try and get the penalty knocked off," Solberg confirmed.

"It is not ideal when you make such a good start and then lose time with a penalty," Latvala added. "We will see what happens."

Latvala currently lies just 0.4 seconds up on Sordo, with Petter Solberg 1.1 seconds further back. If the penalties are applied though, Dani will start the afternoon loop in P1, 9.6 seconds up on Latvala, and 11.1 seconds ahead of Solberg.

Further down the order, Sebastien Ogier is fourth followed by Sebastien Loeb and Mikko Hirvonen, both struggling running first and second on the road and having to sweep away the loose gravel.

Henning Solberg and Matt Wilson are next up, seventh and eighth for the Stobart Ford team, with Nasser Al-Attiyah ninth and also leading the SWRC category.

Federico Villagra rounds out the top ten ahead of Michal Kosciuszko and 2007 F1 world champion Kimi Raikkonen.

In terms of retirements, Per-Gunnar Andersson was the biggest casualty. He crashed out in SS3 and lost two wheels. He had been leading the SWRC class by 7.3 seconds. Fellow SWRC runner, Patrik Sandell also went out in the third test.

The action now resumes at 15.50 hours local time, with a second run through the 8.56km Wadi Shueib stage.

Overall standings after Stage 4 (Top 10):

1. Jari-Matti Latvala BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 42mins 25.6secs M
2. Dani Sordo Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC 00mins 0.4secs M
3. Petter Solberg PSWRT Citroen C4 WRC +00mins 01.5secs A8
4. Sebastien Ogier Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC +00mins 14.0secs M
5. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC +00mins 21.1secs M
6. Mikko Hirvonen BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC +00mins 28.0secs M
7. Henning Solberg Stobart VK Ford Focus WRC +00mins 41.6secs M
8. Matthew Wilson Stobart VK Ford Focus WRC +01mins 07.1secs A8
9. Nasser Al-Attiyah Skoda Fabia S2000 +01mins 26.1secs S
10. Federico Villagra Munchi's Ford Focus WRC +01mins 28.0secs M


12. Kimi Raikkonen Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC +02mins 07.2secs M

SWRC Standings after Stage 4 (Top 3):

1. Nasser Al-Attiyah Skoda Fabia S2000 43mins 51.7secs S
2. Michal Kosciuszko Ford Fiesta S2000 +00mins 23.9secs S
3. Bernardo Sousa Ford Fiesta S2000 +00mins 47.3secs S

PWRC Standings after Stage 4 (Top 3):

1. Patrik Flodin Subaru Impreza Sti 44mins 39.8secs P
2. Armindo Araujo Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +00mins 01.6secs P
3. Martin Semerad Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +00mins 09.4secs P

all times unofficial