The FIA has announced a 13 date calendar for the 2011 World Rally Championship season after the World Motor Sport Council concluded a fax vote of its members.

The calendar could yet be expanded to include a 14th event, with the governing body confirming that a decision on whether or not an extra event will be part of the schedule will be taken by the end of June - with the WMSC set to meet on the 23rd.

Three events return to the calendar for next season, with Italy, Argentina and Greece all back on the schedule, although there are no new events due to be run.

In total, nine of the rallies will be held on gravel, three on asphalt and one on snow and ice, with at least one event running in every month from the season-opener in Sweden through to the final round in Great Britain in November.

2011 World Rally Championship calendar:

13 February Sweden
06 March Mexico
27 March Portugal
17 April Jordan
08 May Italy
29 May Argentina
19 June Greece
31 July Finland
21 August Germany
11 September Australia
02 October France
23 October Spain
13 November Great Britain

NB: Date denotes the Sunday of each event, although final dates are still be confirmed. Under WRC rules, events can now run Thursday-Saturday as opposed to the traditional Friday-Sunday