Format change for Rallye Sanremo

Asphalt only format for Rallye San Remo
Rallye Sanremo will feature asphalt stages only when it runs as round ten of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge in September.

The organisers, Automobile Club Sanremo (ACS), had planned to run a mixture of asphalt and gravel stages but cost implications have forced them to stick to an all-Tarmac format for the 52nd running of the famous rally.

"Maybe we could have carried out the idea to bring Rallye Sanremo back to [the gravel stages of] Siena, but in order to do that we would have been obliged to reduce costs in sectors like safety, where we are not willing to accept any compromise,” Sergio Maiga, the ACS president, said. "Furthermore we wouldn't be able to solve any of the economic problems that a race, like the one we had in mind, would have entailed for the teams that will take part in the event and, even more, for the several private drivers that are always showing their affection to our race.

"A leg on gravel and another one on asphalt would have made necessary a change of car set-up during the race and therefore an increase in costs."

Tagged as: IRC , San Remo

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jan Kopecky/Petr Stary. Skoda Fabia S2000. Rally Islas Canarias. [Pic credit: IRC]
Harry Hunt secures the IRC 2WD Cup for a second time. Cyprus Rally [Pic credit: IRC]
Andreas Mikkelsen and Ola Fløene celebrate in Cyprus after winning IRC title #2 [Pic credit: IRC]
Cyprus Rally winner Nasser Al-Attiyah on the podium with Andreas Mikkelsen [2nd] and Toshi Arai [3rd] [Pic credit: IRC]
Nasser Al-Attiyah /Giovanni Bernacchini. M-Sport Ford Fiesta RRC. Cyprus Rally. [Pic credit: IRC]
Jan Kopecky - Škoda Fabia Super 2000
Giandomenico Basso - M-Sport Ford Fiesta RRC
Federico Gasperetti - Renault Mégane RS
Craig Breen wins Colin McRae Flat Out Trophy in Sanremo
Alessandro Perico - Peugeot 207 S2000
Giandomenico Basso - M-Sport Ford Fiesta RRC
Jan Kopecky - Škoda Fabia Super 2000
Paolo Andreucci - Peugeot 207 S2000
Petar Gyoshev. Mabanol Sliven Rally [Pic credit: IRC]
Dimitar Iliev. Mabanol Sliven Rally winner [Pic credit: IRC]
Dimitar Iliev. Mabanol Sliven Rally [Pic credit: IRC]
Todor Slavov. Mabanol Sliven Rally [Pic credit: IRC]
Petar Gyoshev. Mabanol Sliven Rally [Pic credit: IRC]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.