It is shaping up to be a battle royale between the Citro?n World Rally Team's 2011 duo of S?bastien Loeb and S?bastien Ogier in the 2010 edition of Rallye de Espa?a this weekend - with less than four seconds separating the pair heading into day two.

Having held an advantage of just under twelve seconds at the midday service, Loeb has come under attack from his namesake and countryman over the three afternoon stages, with Ogier winning the first of them and similarly outpacing the multiple World Rally Champion on SS5, too, before the Alsace native hit back on the day's final run through the mixed-surface Les Garrigues on SS6 to claim the top spot and carry a 3.8-second margin into Saturday's asphalt stages, thereby successfully maintaining his on-the-road position of first.

BP Ford Abu Dhabi star Jari-Matti Latvala remains the sole non-Citro?n interloper in the leading four positions, narrowly ahead of former WRC Champion Petter Solberg in his privately-run C4, with the Finn and Norwegian doing battle for the last podium position. Latvala's team-mate and compatriot Mikko Hirvonen still holds a watching - if distant - brief in fifth, ahead of off-form local hero Dani Sordo.

Related Articles

Rallye de Espa?a: Overall standings after Stage 6 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC 1hr 25mins 26.8secs M
2. Sebastien Ogier Citroen Junior Team C4 WRC +00mins 03.8secs M
3. Jari-Matti Latvala BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC +00mins 19.9secs M
4. Petter Solberg PSWRT Citroen C4 WRC +00mins 22.4secs A8
5. Mikko Hirvonen BP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC +00mins 42.4secs M
6. Dani Sordo Citroen Total WRT C4 WRC +00mins 54.7secs M
7. Matthew Wilson Stobart M-Sport Ford Focus WRC +02mins 46.9secs M
8. Federico Villagra Munchi's Ford Focus WRC +03mins 21.2secs M
9. Ken Block Stobart M-Sport Ford Focus WRC +03mins 42.8secs M
10. Henning Solberg Stobart M-Sport Ford Fiesta S2000 +04mins 21.6secs A8

JWRC Standings after Stage 6 (Top 3):

1. Yeray Lemes Renault Clio S1600 1hr 34mins 50.8secs J
2. Hans Weijs Jnr Citroen C2 S1600 +00mins 44.9secs J
3. Aaron Burkart Suzuki Swift S1600 +01mins 19.4secs J

all times unofficial