Andersson enjoys maiden Proton test

PG Andersson happy with initial test of the Proton Satria he will drive in the 2011 Monte Carlo Rally
PG Andersson has completed his first test at the wheel of the Proton Satria Neo S2000 that he will drive on the opening round of the 2011 IRC season in Monte Carlo next month.

Andersson completed two days of running just south of Grenoble and will return to the French Alps early next month for further tests ahead of the classic event.

The initial test saw Andersson complete more than 200km of running in heavy snow in a car running in 2010-spec, with an updated engine due to be used for the January test.

“I knew from a long time ago, from talking to the other drivers, that the Proton chassis was good – and it really is good,” he said. “I'm very pleased with the first test. As the conditions on the test changed a little bit, we made some changes to the chassis and you could feel those changes straight away. It was good to get plenty of running on studded tyres before the Monte.

“By the end of the second day of the test, we did have a clean line coming on the road and we were able to run without the studs, but it would be good to get some time on dry asphalt on the next test. I'm really looking forward to the event now. I feel positive with the car and the team.

“The Monte is going to be a very big event for everybody, there are a lot of very good drivers coming out for the event and the competition will be tough. But I'm very happy with the Proton and where I am for the start of the season.”

Andersson will partner Chris Atkinson in the Proton line-up for the Monte Carlo event.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Per-Gunnar Andersson (SUE), Ford Focus RS WRC 08, Stobart VK M-Sport Ford Rally Team
Per-Gunnar Andersson. Proton Satria Neo S2000. [Pic credit: Proton]
Dani Sordo (ESP) Marc Marti (ES), Hyundai I20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Kris Meeke, Paul Nagle (Citroën DS3 WRC, #3 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Martin Prokop, Michal Ernst (Ford Fiesta RS WRC, #21 Jipocar Czech National Team)
Thierry Neuville, Nicolas Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 WRC, #7 Hyundai Motorsport)
Lorenzo Bertelli,  Mitia Dotta (Ford Fiesta WRC)
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (FRA), (Citroën DS3 WRC, #3 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Mads Ostberg, Jonas Andersson (Citroen DS3 WRC, #4 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.