DMACK set for WRC debut

DMACK Tyres to debut on Rally Sweden as 2011 WRC campaign kicks off
Rally Sweden is to mark a significant milestone for DMACK Tyres as it takes on the ultimate challenge of the World Rally Championship for the very first time.

After a rigorous testing and development programme, headed by test driver Mark Higgins, DMACK met the FIA's 20th December deadline to register its final tyre specifications and will now supply tyres to a number of cars on the first round of the year.

SWRC front-runner Martin Prokop, Martin Semerad and the two Abu Dhabi drivers Majed Al Shamsi and Bader Al Jabri are amongst those set to use the DMACK tyres this weekend.

In a bid to provide even more affordable options, DMACK has offered exclusive incentives to competitors running on its tyres. Any class 2 or class 6 competitor who takes overall victory in that class will receive 50 per cent off their tyre bill for that event.

In addition, any Production WRC competitor who uses DMACK tyres for the entire season and takes overall victory in the PWRC drivers' championship will receive a free tyre package for the entire 2012 PWRC season.

“The WRC, as a series, is the ideal global platform for us to showcase the brand and next week will see the culmination of many months of hard work,” DMACK motorsport director Dick Cormack said. “It will be fantastic to see a DMACK tyre on the start line of the opening world rally championship event. We are looking forward to the rally and are happy with how the testing and development programme has progressed.

“Since gaining authorisation from the FIA to supply tyres in the championship alongside Michelin, we've achieved a lot and worked hard to develop what we believe is a product which suits our customers. We are confident our DMG-ICE tyre can perform well in terms of stud retention which is a key factor in this rally.”

Tagged as: Rally Sweden , DMACK

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres
Robert Kubica
Dani Sordo (ESP) Marc Marti (ES), Hyundai I20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.