Petter Solberg posted the fastest time on a delayed shakedown for the fourth round of the World Rally Championship season in Jordan.

Shakedown had been due to take place on Wednesday ahead of the opening day of action on Thursday, but delays in the arrival of the boat carrying much of the equipment needed to host the rally meant the first six stages were cancelled.

With the boat having finally docked late on Wednesday evening, shakedown was able to take place on Thursday ahead of a revised ceremonial start and the opening stage of the rally - SS7 - on Friday morning.

Petter Solberg was the quickest man through the 2.05km shakedown stage at the wheel of his Citroen DS3 WRC despite the fact he goes into the event without any experience of the new Michelin tyres being used for the first time this weekend.

"It was tough to be here without having had a chance to do anything with the new tyres, because there's quite a big difference," he told "But we had no choice so we just did the best we could. I've learned much more about the tyres now with the few runs we had and I'm ready to start the fight.

"I have to go flat out in every stage to get to the top, and I like driving with the big attack. We will see."

Sebastien Loeb was second fastest in his Citroen, 0.4secs behind Solberg, while Ford pairing Jari-Matti Latvala and Mikko Hirvonen were third and fourth.

The top six was completed by Sebastien Ogier and the leading Stobart Ford in the hands of Matthew Wilson.

Rally Jordan Shakedown times - Top Ten:

1. Petter Solberg PSWRT Citroen DS3 WRC 1min 15.1secs
2. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC 1min 15.5secs
3. Jari-Matti Latvala Ford Abu Dhabi Fiesta RS WRC 1min 15.8secs
4. Mikko Hirvonen Ford Abu Dhabi Fiesta RS WRC 1min 15.9secs
5. Sebastien Ogier Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC 1min 15.9secs
6. Matthew Wilson M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC 1min 16.8secs
7. Kimi Raikkonen ICE1 Racing Citroen DS3 WRC 1min 16.8secs
8. Henning Solberg M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC 1min 16.9secs
9. Mads Ostberg M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC 1min 17.8secs
10. Nasser Al-Attiyah Ford Fiesta S2000 1min 18.0secs