Paddy Hopkirk to appear at The Rally Show

MINI's World Rally Championship return is to be celebrated in true style at The Rally Show 2011, with a special appearance from former Monte Carlo Rally-winner Paddy Hopkirk
Following the exciting news that the brand new MINI John Cooper S WRC will make its UK debut at The Rally Show, organisers have confirmed that MINI legend Paddy Hopkirk will similarly appear at Cornbury Park, Oxfordshire, on Saturday, 14 May.

Hopkirk famously won the Monte Carlo Rally in a MINI Cooper S in 1964, and The Rally Show managing director Malcolm Neill enthused: “It is great news, and only fitting, that Paddy will be at The Rally Show to witness MINI make its rallying comeback.”

Another interesting addition to the driver line-up is 23-year-old Ott Tanak. The young Estonian is the protégé of WRC event-winner Markko Martin, and will be behind the wheel of M-Sport's Ford Fiesta RS WRC on Sunday, 15 May.

Several birthdays will also be celebrated at Cornbury Park. Lancia Owners Club are marking 100 years of the Monte Carlo Rally, the 6R4 Club are celebrating 30 years of the MG Metro 6R4 and a parade on the Special Stage on Sunday will toast 25 years of the Ford Sierra Cosworth.

The deadline for purchasing camping and VIP tickets is midnight on Sunday, 8 May – and you can buy tickets at www.therallyshow.org/tickets.php – whilst anyone fancying a spin around the 1.1-mile Cornbury Park Special Stage with British Rally great Jimmy McRae can bid now in a charity auction in aid of Colin McRae Vision at www.colinmcrae.com.

For all the latest news and gossip in the build-up, follow The Rally Show on Facebook and Twitter!

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ott Tanak (EST) Kuldar (EST), Ford Fiesta S2000
Ott Tanak (EST) Kuldar (EST), Ford Fiesta S2000
MINI WRC team launch event at Oxford [Pic credit: MINI]
Mini Legend
Armindo Araujo (POR) Miguel Ramalho (POR), MINI JOHN COOPER WORKS S2000
Andrea Navarra gives MINI its first win on Italy`s Rally dell`Adriatico
Rauno Aaltonen and Paddy Hopkirk and Dani Sordo (ESP) and Kris Meeke (GBR)
Rauno Aaltonen and Paddy Hopkirk and Dani Sordo (ESP) and Kris Meeke (GBR)
Rauno Aaltonen and Paddy Hopkirk and Dani Sordo (ESP) and Kris Meeke (GBR)
Kris Meeke and Dani Sordo meet Rauno Aaltonen and Paddy Hopkirk as two generations of MINI rally car sit side by side [Pic credit: Mini World Rally Team]
Hayden Paddon (NZ), Hyundai Motorsport [Credit: Haydn Paddon Rallysport Global]
Sebastien Ogier, Volkswagen Motorsport, [Credit: Volkswagen Motorsport]
Thierry Neuville (BEL), Hyundai Motorsport [Credit: Hyundai Motorsport]
Skoda Fabia R 5 (CZE), Skoda motorsport [Credit: Skoda motorsport]
Meeke, Breen, Circuit of Ireland Rally [Credit: Circuit of Ireland Rally]
Kris Meeke [Credit: Crash.net]
Kris Meeke [Credit: Crash.net]
Tanner Foust [Credit: FIA World Rallycross]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Dr. Beatty Crawford - Unregistered

April 13, 2013 2:41 PM

On Feb 22,2014 we will celebrate the 50th anniversary of Paddy Hopkirk's win in the 1964 Monte Carlo Rally in a Mini Cooper. This will take place in the Titanic Belfast.Please visit www.facebook,com/Paddyhopkirkgala

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.