WRC »

Penalty for Loeb

Sebastien Loeb loses ground and slips to fifth after a timing error.

Citroen's Sebastien Loeb has been handed a one-minute penalty after checking into the mid-day service in Argentina early.

The Frenchman, who took the lead yesterday afternoon following the short opening super special, had been fourth following the first loop today - 2.7 seconds behind his team-mate, Sebastien Ogier in third and 1.1 seconds up on Mikko Hirvonen in fifth.

However he now slips behind Hirvonen, and is just 15.5 seconds up on Mads Ostberg in sixth going into SS5.

According to the official WRC website, Loeb's co-driver, Daniel Elena accidentally checked them in a few seconds early due to the 'confusion created by a large build-up of people surrounding the timing clocks' at the entrance to the Carlos Paz service.

Loeb's team are said to be in discussions with officials about the penalty and are assumingly trying to get it revoked. Whether or not they will be successful remains to be seen.

More to follow later...



Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


Binza - Unregistered

May 27, 2011 6:42 PM

What have they done? Tied one hand behind his back! He will still win the title at the end of the season & his team-mate will probably win this rally....ZZZZZ



© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.