Rali Vinho Madeira dropped from IRC schedule

IRC promoters have decided to drop the Rali Vinho Madeira from the 2011 and 2012 schedules over a breach on contract.
The Rali Vinho Madeira will not form part of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge in 2011 and 2012, series promoter Eurosport Events has confirmed.

Managing director Geraldine Filiol revealed that the organisers of the event had informed Eurosport Events that they would not be able to fulfil the details of their contract, particularly in terms of funding.

"This has created a number of logistical and operational difficulties and is not what we would have expected from an event promoter," Filiol commented, "As a result, we have decided to remove the rally from our calendar for this year and 2012, when our existing agreement was due to expire.

"All teams, manufacturers, partners and suppliers were informed as soon as the situation had become clear in an effort to prevent any unnecessary expenditure. They understand and support our decision."

The Rali Vinho Madeira was due to form round seven of the 2011 IRC season, but Filiol confirmed that it would not be replaced, meaning that there would be just eleven rounds on this season's schedule. Drivers and manufacturers will continue to count their best seven scores only.

The next IRC event is Sata Rallye Acores, which runs over 14-16 July. The gravel rally is one of the highlights of the season with its spectacular stages through stunning countryside. All seven IRC manufacturers are set to be represented on the island event.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Rallye Monte Carlo, Atmosphere [Pic credit: IRC]
World RX calendar 2015
Harry Hunt secures the IRC 2WD Cup for a second time. Cyprus Rally [Pic credit: IRC]
Andreas Mikkelsen and Ola Fløene celebrate in Cyprus after winning IRC title #2 [Pic credit: IRC]
Cyprus Rally winner Nasser Al-Attiyah on the podium with Andreas Mikkelsen [2nd] and Toshi Arai [3rd] [Pic credit: IRC]
Nasser Al-Attiyah /Giovanni Bernacchini. M-Sport Ford Fiesta RRC. Cyprus Rally. [Pic credit: IRC]
Jan Kopecky - Škoda Fabia Super 2000
Giandomenico Basso - M-Sport Ford Fiesta RRC
Federico Gasperetti - Renault Mégane RS
Craig Breen wins Colin McRae Flat Out Trophy in Sanremo
Alessandro Perico - Peugeot 207 S2000
Giandomenico Basso - M-Sport Ford Fiesta RRC
Jan Kopecky - Škoda Fabia Super 2000
Paolo Andreucci - Peugeot 207 S2000
Petar Gyoshev. Mabanol Sliven Rally [Pic credit: IRC]
Dimitar Iliev. Mabanol Sliven Rally winner [Pic credit: IRC]
Dimitar Iliev. Mabanol Sliven Rally [Pic credit: IRC]
Todor Slavov. Mabanol Sliven Rally [Pic credit: IRC]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

a6tdh - Unregistered

June 26, 2011 12:03 AM

Pleased just spotted this. Just about to book holiday for the rally. Very late notice with few weeks to go. A lot of people will be a bit upset as it's to late to cancel.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.