Loeb top in Spain at close of day one

"I had a challenging day,” Meeke noted. “However, if I had really pushed myself to the limit risking everything maybe I would have been on a similar time to Dani, but then I know he is going to pull away tomorrow as I don't have the experience of the roads.

“I said for once use the wise head and try to relax and go out to learn the rally. Certainly the most challenging part of the rally is over and the last stage was the most difficult stage I have ever driven.

“Tomorrow is all about tarmac driving, finding the rhythm there and trying to find tenths of seconds as the stage times will be separated by a lot less. Today with the dust and the rocks falling onto the road it made it very, very difficult."

M-Sport Stobart Ford's Mads Ostberg and Henning Solberg hold positions 7 and 8, the former slowed by differential problems, while the latter has been hindered by intercom problems.

“It has felt like a very long day but that last stage was unbelievable!” Ostberg said. “We could barely see a thing so I tried to be sensible and keep the speed down but the car took so many knocks. We had to make do with the Tarmac differential which made everything a lot harder than it could have been as the handling was all over the place.

“We changed the dampers and springs at service which helped for the second loop but then we still struggled with the pre-load on the rear diff. This afternoon was definitely a step forward compared to what everything felt like this morning and I'm happy to be in this position after a hard day. I didn't think I would say this but I'm actually happy to have got today's stages out the way and I look forward to moving onto full asphalt roads tomorrow.”

Evgeny Novikov and Matt Wilson round out the top ten, with SWRC class leader, Nasser Al-Attiyah eleventh, just one second up on Juho Hanninen.

Patrik Flodin leads the PWRC - the other support category - 35.9 seconds ahead of Michal Kosciuszko.

In terms of retirements, SS1 claimed both Petter Solberg and Ken Block - Solberg ripped a wheel off, while Block damaged his steering. F1 2007 World Champion Kimi Raikkonen joined them on the sidelines in SS3, stopping with reported engine problems.

The action now continues on Saturday with 143.54 competitive kilometres on the bill, comprising two loops of three stages. Unlike today's mainly gravel tests though, the final two days are completely on tarmac and as such overnight the cars will be converted into full asphalt trim.

SS7, the 45.97 km-run through El Priorat 1 - the longest test of the event - begins at 09.40 hours local time [08.40 hours UK time].

Rally de Espana: Overall standings after Stage 6 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC 1hour 44mins 06.3secs M
2. Jari-Matti Latvala Ford Abu Dhabi WRT Fiesta RS WRC +00mins 30.6secs M
3. Mikko Hirvonen Ford Abu Dhabi WRT Fiesta RS WRC +00mins 54.2secs M
4. Sebastien Ogier Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC +01mins 45.3secs M
5. Dani Sordo MINI WRT John Cooper Works +02mins 02.7secs
6. Kris Meeke MINI WRT John Cooper Works +02mins 52.8secs
7. Mads Ostberg M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC +03mins 03.1secs M
8. Henning Solberg M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC +03mins 11.6secs
9. Evgeny Novikov Citroen DS3 WRC +04mins 24.8secs M
10. Matthew Wilson M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC +05mins 16.8secs M


11. Nasser Al-Attiyah Ford Fiesta S2000 +05mins 50.0secs S
12. Juho Hanninen Skoda Fabia S2000 +05mins 51.0secs S
13. Dennis Kuipers FERM Powertools Ford Fiesta RS WRC +05mins 51.7secs M
14. Craig Breen Ford Fiesta S2000 +06mins 14.6secs S
15. Martin Prokop Ford Fiesta S2000 +06mins 18.1secs S
16. Khalid Al-Qassimi Team Abu Dhabi Fiesta RS WRC +06mins 50.6secs M
19. Peter van Merksteijn Van Merksteijn Citroen DS3 WRC +07mins 52.4secs M
21. Patrik Flodin Subaru Impreza +08mins 56.9secs P
23. Federico Villagra Munchi's Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC +09mins 35.9secs M

SWRC standings after Stage 6 (Top 3):

1. Nasser Al-Attiyah Ford Fiesta S2000 1hour 49mins 56.3secs S
2. Juho Hanninen Skoda Fabia S2000 +00mins 01.0secs S
3. Craig Breen Ford Fiesta S2000 +00mins 24.6secs S

PWRC standings after Stage 6 (Top 3):

1. Patrik Flodin Subaru Impreza 1hour 53mins 03.2secs P
2. Michal Kosciuszko Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +00mins 35.9secs P
3. Benito Guerra Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +04mins 14.6secs P

Notable retirements:

SS1. Petter Solberg PSWRT Citroen DS3 WRC Broken wheel M
SS1. Ken Block Monster WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC Broken steering M
SS3. Kimi Raikkonen ICE1 Racing Citroen DS3 WRC Engine M

all times unofficial

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.