Ostberg, Meeke pace shakedown

Kris Meeke and Mads Ostberg joint quickest in shakedown for Wales Rally GB

Kris Meeke and Mads Ostberg posted the joint-quickest time in shakedown for the final round of the 2011 World Rally Championship in Wales.

Meeke, at the wheel of his MINI Countryman WRC, and Ostberg, in his Stobart Ford Fiesta WRC, set a time of 1min 31.2secs through the 1.7 kilometre gravel stage that served as the shakedown test, putting them nine-tenths of a second clear of Sebastian Loeb in third.

“It's only shakedown and not the rally but it still means things are working straight away,” Ostberg said. “It gives you a small boost when you are fastest but we won't get carried away. Definitely I'm happy with the car after the pre-event test. I just can't wait to start the stages now.”

Loeb's Citroen was just a tenth of a second clear of Dani Sordo in the second MINI, while Sebastien Ogier, Jari-Matti Latvala and Matthew Wilson all posted the same time – 0.3secs behind Sordo.

Mikko Hirvonen, the man looking to prevent Loeb from successfully defending his title once again, was eighth fastest and set the same time as former F1 racer Kimi Raikkonen, while the top ten was completed by Ken Block.

Petter Solberg meanwhile was equal twelfth alongside Dennis Kuipers

Wales Rally GB Shakedown times – Top ten:

1. Mads Ostberg M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC 01mins 31.2secs M
=. Kris Meeke MINI WRT John Cooper Works 01mins 31.2secs
3. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC 01mins 32.1secs M
4. Dani Sordo MINI WRT John Cooper Works 01mins 32.2secs
5. Sebastien Ogier Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC 01mins 32.5secs M
=. Jari-Matti Latvala Ford Abu Dhabi WRT Fiesta RS WRC 01mins 32.5secs M
=. Matthew Wilson M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC 01mins 32.5secs
8. Mikko Hirvonen Ford Abu Dhabi WRT Fiesta RS WRC 01mins 32.8secs M
=. Kimi Raikkonen ICE1 Racing Citroen DS3 WRC 01mins 32.8secs
10. Ken Block Monster WRT Fiesta RS WRC 01mins 33.4secs M

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Kris Meeke (GB), Mini John Cooper Works, MINI WRC TEAM
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres
Robert Kubica
Dani Sordo (ESP) Marc Marti (ES), Hyundai I20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.