Vote for your World Rally Driver of the Year!

CLICK HERE to rate each of the World Rally drivers out of ten for their 2011 performances...
The 2011 WRC season is over and with it the first year with the new generation of 1.6 litre turbo-charged WRC cars. Sebastien Loeb may be champion again, for the eighth time, but during the season, he didn't have it all his own way.

Indeed Mikko Hirvonen took the title fight to the wire in Wales, thanks to great consistency and a little help from his Ford team-mate, Jari-Matti Latvala, who gifted him positions in Australia, France and Spain.

Then there was the enemy within that Loeb had to deal with, Seb #2, Ogier. The younger Frenchman proved to be a real thorn in his side, and was himself in contention for the title, right up until the penultimate event in Spain, when engine problems forced him out while running fifth.

It wasn't just about the works Citroen and Ford drivers though. Petter Solberg again shone on occasion in his privately-run DS3 WRC, while Mads Ostberg also impressed, especially with his drives in Sweden and GB. There was also the arrival of MINI in Sardinia and Dani Sordo and Kris Meeke quickly showed the potential of the Prodrive-run John Cooper Works cars, with Sordo getting on the podium in Germany and almost winning in Spain.

But who impressed you?

We'd like to know, so VOTE NOW and give us your verdict on the WRC class of 2011, by giving each one a score from one (poor) to ten (excellent) dependent upon how impressed you were with their performances this year.

We've selected the top 18 drivers' in the WRC drivers' championship and just for fun we have added in three 'wildcards' too.

To submit your ratings, all you have to do is CLICK HERE

You can also share your thoughts and opinions simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below...

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Petter Solberg (NOR) Chris Patterson (GBR), Citroen DS3 WRC, Petter Solberg Rallying
Mads Ostberg (NOR) Jonas Andersson (SUE), Ford Fiesta RS WRC, M-Sport Stobart Ford World Rally Team
Dani Sordo (ESP) Carlos del Barrio (ESP), Mini John Cooper Works, MINI WRC TEAM
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) Jarmo Lehtinen (FIN), Ford Fiesta RS WRC,  BP Ford Abu Dhabi World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

kasser - Unregistered

December 01, 2011 5:15 AM

Loeb the best for 2011 by far. yes, boring maybe, his 8th title. but he cant be faulted. he had many great drives this year sweeping the road and still leading from the front. What more can you say. Maturity, consistency, and HE IS FAST.

Max - Unregistered

November 30, 2011 8:37 PM

I was looking for Hapless, yet I kept getting redirected to Mathew Wilson. Please can anyone tell me why? Perhaps we should report abuse to Crash.net?

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.