Your Top 10 World Rally Drivers' of the Year 2011: 4: Petter Solberg

Nationality: Norwegian Team: Petter Solberg World Rally Team Car: Citroen DS3 WRC Championship position: 5th Points: 110 points (average tally per event: 8.46) Events: 13 (out 13) Wins: 0 Podiums: 2 Points finishes: 9 Stage wins: 30 Power Stage wins: 1

Petter Solberg was easily the top privateer in 2012 and despite not being in a works car he showed potentially event winning form on a number of events. It was those kinds of performances that earned him fourth place in your World Rally Driver of the Year vote.

Petter's best results in the end came in Sardinia and Australia when he was third, although he also took points' in seven other events (namely Sweden, Mexico, Portugal, Argentina, Greece, Finland and Germany), as well as winning the Power Stage in Argentina.

In terms of low's, France was probably the most heartbreaking after he lost a podium when his Citroen DS3 was found to be underweight. He also suffered retirements in Jordan, Spain and Wales, and slipped to fifth in Sweden, when his co-driver, Chris Patterson had to drive the car in the event ending Power Stage after he was caught speeding on a road section on the Friday and lost his licence.

Still Petter managed 110 points in total and did enough to secure the second seat with the works Ford team in 2012.

For the record, your average mark for 'Hollywood' was 7.34 out of ten. Do you agree that is about right? Share your thoughts and opinions simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below.

Also, don't forget to check back tomorrow to see who has been ranked in third place...

Past vote results for Petter:

Top 10 World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2010: 1st
Top 10 World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2009: 3rd
Top 10 World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2008: 10th's World Rally Driver of the Year 2011 - results so far:

5. Dani Sordo 6. Craig Breen 7. Kris Meeke 8. Mads Ostberg 9. Andreas Mikkelsen 10. Mikko Hirvonen