Your Top 10 World Rally Drivers' of the Year 2011: 3: Sebastien Ogier

Team: Citroen Total World Rally Team
Car: Citroen DS3 WRC
Championship position: 3rd
Points: 196 points (average tally per event: 15.08)
Events: 13 (out 13)
Wins: 5
Podiums: 7 (in total)
Points finishes: 9
Stage wins: 55
Power Stage wins: 4

Sebastien Ogier was a title contender right up until the final event notching up victories in Portugal, Jordan, Greece, Germany and France - the only driver, other than Sebastien Loeb to win five events.

Related Articles

He also finished third in Argentina and Finland and took the very first Power Stage win in Sweden, ending 2011 with four Power Stage wins in total - the most of anyone driver.

An engine problem in Spain - the penultimate event the season, however, ended his championship hopes.

He also suffered final day crashes in Mexico and Argentina that cost him almost certain victories.

His off in Australia, when he hit a tree in SS6, wasn't very helpful either, nor was his clumsy error in the first stage of Wales Rally GB. Then there were the spats with Citroen and his team-mate, Sebastien Loeb, hence his exit and the announcement he will join Volkswagen for 2012.

Still, few would argue he is not a world champion in waiting and in the end you gave him an average mark of 7.61 out of ten, which gives him bronze in our World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2011.

Do you think that is about right? Share your thoughts and opinions simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below.

Also, don't forget to check back tomorrow to see who has been ranked in second place...

Past vote results for Ogier:

Top 10 World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2010: 4th
Top 10 World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2009: 8th
Top 10 World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2008: 4th's World Rally Driver of the Year 2011 - results so far: 4. Petter Solberg 5. Dani Sordo 6. Craig Breen 7. Kris Meeke 8. Mads Ostberg 9. Andreas Mikkelsen 10. Mikko Hirvonen