Your Top 10 World Rally Drivers' of the Year 2011: 1: Sebastien Loeb

Team: Citroen Total World Rally Team
Car: Citroen DS3 WRC
Championship position: 1st
Points: 222 points (average tally per event: 17.08)
Events: 13 (out 13)
Wins: 5
Podiums: 9 (in total)
Points finishes: 11
Stage wins: 65
Power Stage wins: 3

No surprise to see Sebastien Loeb has come out top in our World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2011.

The Frenchman had another great season and took wins in Mexico, Sardinia, Argentina, Finland and Catalunya, as well as podiums in Portugal (2nd), Jordan (3rd), Greece (2nd) and Germany (2nd). His eighth drivers' title makes him the most successful driver in history now when it comes to FIA World titles.

It didn't all go to plan, however, and that puncture in Germany in the final stage on day 2 ended his run of eight successive wins in Trier.

Worse was to come though, with a roll in Australia in SS4 and an engine problem in France in SS3, throwing the title race wide open.

Loeb kept his cool, however, winning in Spain to re-assert his authority and when Mikko Hirvonen, his only remaining championship rival, crashed out on Rally GB, the Frenchman was assured of the 2011 WRC drivers' title, something that made his final day exit in Wales, after a collision on the road section, nothing more than a minor irritation.

Loeb will now have a new team-mate in 2012, with Hirvonen replacing Sebastien Ogier, and it will be interesting to see how that all pans out - especially as Ogier's challenge definitely seemed to rattle the 37-year-old.

For the record, in the end you gave Loeb an average mark of 8.61 out of ten. Do you think that is a fair score?

Share your thoughts and opinions simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below...

Past vote results for Loeb:
Top 10 World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2010: 2nd
Top 10 World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2009: 1st
Top 10 World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2008: 1st's World Rally Driver of the Year 2011 results - 2nd to 10th: 2. Jari-Matti Latvala 3. Sebastien Ogier 4. Petter Solberg 5. Dani Sordo 6. Craig Breen 7. Kris Meeke 8. Mads Ostberg 9. Andreas Mikkelsen 10. Mikko Hirvonen

A full run down of the results in our World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2011 will appear next week


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment