Monte entry confirmed

89 runners to take in Rallye Monte Carlo in January

The entry list for Rallye Monte Carlo, the opening round of the 2012 World Rally Championship, was announced this week.

It includes 89 competitors in total, with 15 in World Rally Cars and 5 entered as Manufacturers (including Paulo Nobre).

Registrations for the 2012 FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers close on March 27. The MINI WRT has yet to register, although the FIA said before Christmas that it is 'continuing discussions' with the Prodrive-run outfit 'in the hope of reaching an agreement that will see it participate in a limited programme in 2012'.

Meanwhile, in terms of the SWRC and PWRC categories, each class only has three entries for the Monte - and only six and five entries respectively in so far. Registrations for the SWRC close on January 10, while registrations for the PWRC remain open until March 27.

Currently Michal Kosciuszko, Lorenzo Bertelli, Louise Cook, Nikita Philippov and Marcos Ligato have committed to do the PWRC, although the latter two have not nominated Monte Carlo. PWRC runners nominate six WRC events from eight.

As for the SWRC, in addition to Craig Breen and the two Proton Motorsport entries, Hayden Paddon, Maciej Oleksowicz and an entry from Yazeed Racing will also take in the championship, however, they have decided not to do the Monte. SWRC runners have to do seven WRC events from eight.

The notable entries set to take in the six-day Rallye Monte Carlo, which runs from January 17-22, are as follows:

2012 Rallye Monte Carlo – entry list

Priority 1 Drivers:

1. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT Citroen DS3 WRC M
2. Mikko Hirvonen Citroen Total WRT Citroen DS3 WRC M
Jari-Matti Latvala Ford WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC M
Petter Solberg Ford WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC M
Paulo Nobre Palmeirinha Rally TBA M#

Henning Solberg Henning Solberg Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Matthew Wilson Matthew Wilson Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ott Tanak M-Sport Ford WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Evgeny Novikov M-Sport Ford WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Martin Prokop Czech Ford National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC

Thierry Neuville PH Sport Citroen DS3 WRC
Peter van Merksteijn PH Sport Citroen DS3 WRC

37. Dani Sordo MINI WRT MINI John Cooper Works WRC
52. Pierre Campana MINI WRT MINI John Cooper Works WRC


Francois Delcour M-Sport Ford WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC

Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Skoda Fabia S2000 *
Kevin Abbring Volkswagen Motorsport Skoda Fabia S2000
P-G Andersson Proton Motorsport Proton Satria Neo S2000 S*
Giandomenico Basso Proton Motorsport Proton Satria Neo S2000 S*
Craig Breen Craig Breen Ford Fiesta S2000 S*
Louise Cook Louise Cook Ford Fiesta P*
Lorenzo Bertelli Lorenzo Bertelli Mitsubishi Evo IX P*
Michal Kosciuszko Dynamic Lotos Mitsubiahi Evo X P*

Eamonn Boland Eamonn Boland Mitsubishi Evo X
Armindo Araujo TBA MINI John Cooper Works#

* Denotes Priority 3 driver
# denotes entry class not confirmed
M denotes registered for Manufacturers Championship
P denotes PWRC entry
S denotes SWRC entry

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Rallye Monte Carlo, Atmosphere [Pic credit: IRC]
Scene, Rallye Monte Carlo sign. Rallye Automobile Monte-Carlo, 18-20 January 2007

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Jasemat - Unregistered

December 30, 2011 9:29 PM

Anyone else happy to see the name Delecour on that list. Was never the quickest out there but still goes well and he's in a WRC car. Could be worth a watch

Jasemat - Unregistered

December 31, 2011 2:03 AM

@ Forza. No arguments there, Think he would have won the WDC that year if he hadn't of smashed his mates Ferrari up and pretty much put his self out of the World Championship

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.