MINI secures Manufacturer entry status

FIA issues revised entry list for the 2012 World Rally Championship, 11 entrants now confirmed.

The MINI WRC Team will compete in the World Rally Championship in 2012 as a manufacturer, the FIA has confirmed.

Although MINI has had to cut back its planned programme this season, with Britain's Kris Meeke dropped in favour of pay drivers, the team has been listed as a full manufacturer on the latest list of entrants published by the sports' governing body.

Indeed, compared to the list issued on December 21, the number of entrants has increased from 5 to a far more respectable 11, with a number of 'teams' also now registered, including two M-Sport Ford WRT slots, which are expected to be used by a number of drivers in 2012, including Mads Ostberg, Henning Solberg, Matthew Wilson, Evgeny Novikov and Ott Tanak.

The full list, as of January 11, is as follows, although it should be noted that registrations remain open until March 27.

2012 FIA World Rally Championship - List of entrants:*


Citroen Total World Rally Team Sebastien Loeb Citroen DS3 WRC
Citroen Total World Rally Team Mikko Hirvonen Citroen DS3 WRC

Ford World Rally Team Jari-Matti Latvala Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford World Rally Team Petter Solberg Ford Fiesta RS WRC

MINI WRC Team Dani Sordo MINI John Cooper Works WRC
MINI WRC Team TBC MINI John Cooper Works WRC

WRC teams:

Armindo Araujo World Rally Team Armindo Araujo MINI John Cooper Works WRC

Palmeirinha Rally Paulo Nobre MINI John Cooper Works WRC

M-Sport Ford World Rally Team TBC Ford Fiesta RS WRC
M-Sport Ford World Rally Team TBC Ford Fiesta RS WRC

Qatar World Rally Team Nasser Al-Attiyah Citroen DS3 WRC

* Drivers in italics were not included on the entry list released by FIA.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Dani Sordo (ESP) Carlos del Barrio (ESP), Mini John Cooper Works, MINI WRC TEAM
Dani Sordo (ESP) Carlos del Barrio (ESP), Mini John Cooper Works, MINI WRC TEAM
Dani Sordo (ESP) Carlos del Barrio (ESP), Mini John Cooper Works, MINI WRC TEAM

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Aye - Unregistered

January 13, 2012 2:27 AM

I'd say Ford and Citroen were none too pleased when they heard this, but at least they know that MINI won't win the Manufacturers title next year. Hopefully MINI can sort things out and enter every round in 2013 with two drivers. What I don't get though is why don't Monster Energy or Red Bull just sponsor them? I know Monster sponsor Ken Block and Red Bull sponsor Citroen, but Monster are sponsoring MINI on the Dakar. Surely the WRC has a bigger global audience throughout the year than the Dakar does over two weeks? So I don't know where the logis is in that. Then again, I don't run a business. Maybe Rockstar Energy could sponsor the MINI's....the cars would look good then. They'd look even better if Mother sponsored them.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.