Sordo leads into final day in Corsica

Jean-Marc Manzagol is on course for his first IRC points in sixth place with Sepp Wiegand eighth for Skoda Auto Deutschland. Jean-Mathieu Leandri is ninth in the third Saintéloc 207 with Andreas Aigner an impressive tenth and leading IRC Production Cup contender in his Stohl Racing Subaru Impreza R4 STI, despite fears of a transmission issue prior to the halted final stage.

Hermann Gassner Jr will start the final day four seconds behind Aigner in his Red Bull Team Fabia with IRC Production Cup title-holder Toshi Arai second in class in 14th overall. Jarkko Nikara completes a Subaru top-three in the category for Tommi Mäkinen Racing in 15th position.

Petru Antone Boschetti heads the battle for IRC 2WD Cup honours in his Renault Clio R3 after an engine fire forced overnight leader Pierre Antoine Guglielmi's retirement on a dramatic sixth stage, when Emmanuel Guigou crashed his Renault Mégane RS, shortly after he'd demoted Guglielmi for first place. Rallying legend François Delecour, in another Mégane, is second overnight but Honda Civic Type R driver Menya Krózser is out due to engine failure.

Marty McCormack's bid for his first IRC points suffered a setback when he picked up two punctures on the first stage in his Petter Solberg Engineering Fiesta. The Northern Irish driver languishes in 20th overall as a result. Oleksandr Saliuk, in a Dream Team Ukraine Fiesta, got to the end of the run with damage to the left-rear suspension and brakes but was unable to complete the liaison section back to service. Julien Maurin crashed his similar Fiesta on stage six but Oleksii Tamrazov is still running in his Fiesta in 18th place.

Giandomenico Basso failed to restart on Friday due to damage sustained to his Fiesta RRC in an incident on a liaison section on Thursday evening. The Italian was second at the time of his exit. Subaru driver Marco Tempestini also failed to return after a differential fault that struck his Subaru during Wednesday's shakedown could not be cured.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Dani Sordo - MINI John Cooper Works S2000 [Pic credit: IRC]
Dani Sordo (ESP) Marc Marti (ES), Hyundai I20 WRC, Hyundai Motorsport
Kris Meeke, Paul Nagle (Citroën DS3 WRC, #3 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Martin Prokop, Michal Ernst (Ford Fiesta RS WRC, #21 Jipocar Czech National Team)
Thierry Neuville, Nicolas Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 WRC, #7 Hyundai Motorsport)
Lorenzo Bertelli,  Mitia Dotta (Ford Fiesta WRC)
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (FRA), (Citroën DS3 WRC, #3 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Mads Ostberg, Jonas Andersson (Citroen DS3 WRC, #4 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT)
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
French Rally
Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.