Loeb stays top, but Latvala cuts gap

Sebastien Loeb concludes day one at the top of the leaderboard, 6.5 seconds up on Jari-Matti Latvala; Petter Solberg completes the provisional podium
Citroen's Sebastien Loeb remains in the lead at the end of the opening leg of the Acropolis Rally of Greece, although Jari-Matti Latvala did manage to reduce the Frenchman's advantage on the third loop of the day.

Loeb began the day in second place, 2.8 seconds off the lead, but moved to the front in SS4, when Latvala overshot a junction. Seb then pulled out a 10.1 second lead on the middle loop and while he more or less maintained that margin in SS7 and SS8, he conceded 3.7 seconds in SS9, the final stage of the day. Loeb will now go into the overnight service with a 6.5 second cushion.

“We had a good day,” Loeb reflected. “No problems at all and with a good battle. It's always better to be first in the classification, but it's very close. So I will push tomorrow.”

“It's been a reasonably good day for me,” added Latvala, who is returning from injury. “The car is in good condition, but tomorrow is the rough leg. My arm is okay. At the start I wasn't so confident, but I got the confidence back in the afternoon.

“I will try to catch Loeb tomorrow, but it is like in Finland, where the differences in stage times are in seconds.”

Fellow Ford man Petter Solberg is next up, having moved back up to third this afternoon in SS8, when he posted his second quickest time of the day. The Norwegian admitted though that he was lucky to still be in the fight after a big scare in SS6, when his car's underbody struck a rock in a compression following a crest.

Mikko Hirvonen lies fourth, although a bad final loop, in which he picked up two punctures – one in SS7 and one in SS9, has dropped him back, 47.9 seconds off P1 and 31.9 seconds off the final place on the podium.

“We had another puncture in Thiva 2. I went wide in one corner and we hit a bank. I couldn't see from the dust of [Mads] Ostberg. Tomorrow we will try and catch Petter. We know that he is not very close, but I don't want to slow down too much,” said Hirvonen.

Further back, Evgeny Novikov rounds out the top five, although turbo problems in SS7 and gearbox issues in SS8 cost him time. Martin Prokop trails the Russian, albeit 51.7 seconds further back in sixth, followed by Nasser Al-Attiyah and Mads Ostberg, the latter losing over 3 minutes in the final test of the day when he went off the road. VW Motorsport duo Sebastien Ogier and Andreas Mikkelsen complete the top ten, with Thierry Neuville down in eleventh after breaking a driveshaft in Thiva 2.

In the support categories, Nicolas Fuchs moved into the lead in the PWRC in SS8, when Valeriy Gorban hit problems, while in the WRC Academy Elfyn Evans remains on top, completing the day 29.5 seconds up on Alastair Fisher.

As for retirements, Ott Tanak was the most notable casualty, forced out following an off in SS7. He had been running seventh overall. It is not yet known if the M-Sport Ford man will be able to re-start under the Rally 2 regulations.

The Acropolis Rally now continues on Saturday and day two is the roughest of the event, with eight stages on the bill, totalling 149.56 competitive kilometres. SS10, Klenia Mycenae 1, is due to start at 08.38 hours local time [06.38 hours UK time].

Acropolis Rally: Overall standings after Stage 9 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC 2hours 14mins 01.3secs M
2. Jari-Matti Latvala Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC +00mins 06.5secs M
3. Petter Solberg Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC +00mins 17.7secs M
4. Mikko Hirvonen Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC +00mins 47.9secs M
5. Evgeny Novikov M-Sport Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC +03mins 54.9secs M
6. Martin Prokop Ford Fiesta RS WRC +04mins 46.7secs
7. Nasser Al-Attiyah Qatar WRT Citroen DS3 WRC +04mins 56.9secs M
8. Mads Ostberg Adapta WRT Fiesta RS WRC +05mins 14.6secs
9. Sebastien Ogier VW Motorsport Skoda Fabia S2000 +05mins 27.2secs
10. Andreas Mikkelsen VW Motorsport Skoda Fabia S2000 +06mins 31.0secs


11. Thierry Neuville Citroen Junior WRT DS3 WRC +07mins 48.7secs M
12. Armindo Araujo WRC MINI Team Portugal John Cooper Works WRC +09mins 33.0secs
15. Nicolas Fuchs Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +15mins 45.1secs P
16. Paulo Nobre WRC MINI Team Portugal John Cooper Works WRC +16mins 06.6secs

PWRC standings after Stage 9 - Top 3:

1. Nicolas Fuchs Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 2hours 29mins 46.4secs P
2. Subhan Aksa Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +03mins 12.3secs P
3. Ricardo Trivino Subaru Impreza WRX STi +04mins 20.9secs P

Notable retirements:

SS3. Daniel Oliveira Brazil WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC Retired from leg M
SS7/SS8. Ott Tanak M-Sport Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC Went off road M

all times unofficial

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.