Citroen's Sebastien Loeb has decided to start tenth in the order on the opening day of Rally Finland.

Loeb got first pick of position after setting the best time in the qualifying stage [see separate story - HERE] and with the weather forecast uncertain, he decided to hedge his bets.

"It was very difficult to choose," Loeb told the official WRC site. "We know if it's dry it's better to be behind and if it's wet it's better to be in front. We don't know exactly what the weather will do though, so we choose in the middle because we expect some rain in some moments but not always."

Jari-Matti Latvala then followed Loeb's example and opted for 11th, with Mikko Hirvonen and Petter Solberg doing likewise. Hirvonen will start 12th, with Petter in 13th, ahead of Evgeny Novikov, Mads Ostberg, Thierry Neuville and Chris Atkinson. Sebastian Lindholm and Paulo Nobre will lead the way.

Rally Finland now gets underway proper tomorrow [Thursday], with SS1, the 13.68 km Koukunmaa test, starting at 17.23 hours local time (15.23 hours UK time).

The opening day includes just three tests and a competitive distance of only 29.90 kilometres - although there is no service in between.

Rally Finland: Day 1 running order:

1. Sebastian Lindholm Ford Fiesta RS WRC
2. Paulo Nobre WRC MINI Team Portugal John Cooper Works WRC
3. Armindo Araujo WRC MINI Team Portugal John Cooper Works WRC
4. Ken Block Monster WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC
5. Riku Tahko MINI John Cooper Works WRC
6. Martin Prokop Ford Fiesta RS WRC
7. Matti Rantanen Ford Fiesta RS WRC
8. Jari Ketomaa Ford Fiesta RS WRC
9. Ott Tanak M-Sport Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC M
10. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC M
11. Jari-Matti Latvala Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC M
12. Mikko Hirvonen Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC M
13. Petter Solberg Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC M
14. Evgeny Novikov M-Sport Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC M
15. Mads Ostberg Adapta WRT Fiesta RS WRC
16. Thierry Neuville Citroen Junior WRT DS3 WRC M
17. Chris Atkinson Qatar WRT Citroen DS3 WRC M