Ford's Jari-Matti Latvala remains in control on Wales Rally GB following the repeat loop this afternoon.

Latvala almost doubled his overnight lead this morning, increasing it from 12.1 seconds to 22.2 seconds post-SS9, and following SS12, he more or less maintained that gap over his team-mate, Petter Solberg.

Indeed while Jari-Matti was 'only' fourth in Crychan 2, he was quickest in the next test, Epynt 2, before posting the second best time in Halfway 2.

The Finn now has a 21.7 second cushion, with just the short 3.04 km Celtic Manor test to go before the second leg draws to a close.

Soberg meanwhile has responded to Loeb and after the Frenchman closed to within 3.9 seconds, 'Hollywood' has fought back, setting the pace in both SS10 and SS12 and extending the gap to 7.3 seconds.

"We had new tyres, it was good to be back on pace. We saved tyres early on, it will be a hard fight with Loeb, but I'll keep fighting," Solberg said.

"We did what we could with the tyres," Loeb added. "I can't do anything with Jari but I hope to catch Solberg."

Behind, Mads Ostberg is still fourth, with Mikko Hirvonen fifth, ahead of Ott Tanak, Evgeny Novikov, Thierry Neuville and Matthew Wilson in positions 5 through to 9. Martin Prokop completes the top-ten.

SS13 is now due to start at 18.30 hours local time.

Wales Rally GB: Overall standings after Stage 12 (Top 10):

1. Jari-Matti Latvala Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC 2hours 16mins 18.4secs M
2. Petter Solberg Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC +00mins 21.7secs M
3. Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC +00mins 29.0secs M
4. Mads Ostberg Adapta WRT Fiesta RS WRC +00mins 45.6secs M
5. Mikko Hirvonen Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC +01mins 16.8secs M
6. Ott Tanak M-Sport Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC +01mins 29.3secs M
7. Evgeny Novikov M-Sport Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC +01mins 48.6secs M
8. Thierry Neuville Citroen Junior WRT DS3 WRC +03mins 22.1secs M
9. Matthew Wilson M-Sport Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC +04mins 30.6secs
10. Martin Prokop Ford Fiesta RS WRC +05mins 21.4secs


11. Chris Atkinson WRC MINI Team Portugal John Cooper Works WRC +06mins 18.6secs
12. Sebastien Ogier VW Motorsport Skoda Fabia S2000 +06mins 43.8secs
13. Nasser Al-Attiyah Qatar WRT Citroen DS3 WRC +07mins 38.3secsM
14. Craig Breen Ford Fiesta S2000 +10mins 41.0secs S
15. Yazeed Al-Rajhi Ford Fiesta S2000 +10mins 43.9secs S

SWRC standings after Stage 12 - Top 3:

1. Craig Breen Ford Fiesta S2000 2hours 26mins 59.4secs S
2. Yazeed Al-Rajhi Ford Fiesta S2000 +00mins 02.9secs S
3. Tom Cave Proton Satria Neo S2000 +02mins 15.5secs S

Notable retirements:

SS2. Per-Gunnar Andersson Proton Satria Neo S2000 Lost a wheel S*
SS2/3. Alastair Fisher Ford Fiesta S2000 Suspension damage S*
SS3/SS4. Haydon Paddon Skoda Fabia S2000 Mechanical S*

SS7. Jannie Habig M-Sport Ford WRT Fiesta RS WRC Went off the road

* denotes re-started under Rally 2

all times unofficial