Your Top 10 World Rally Drivers of the Year 2012: 6: Mikko Hirvonen

Nationality: Finnish Team: Citroen Total World Rally Team Car: Citroen DS3 WRC Championship position: 2nd Points: 213 points (average tally per event: 16.39) Events: 13 (out 13) Wins: 1 Podiums: 10 (in total) Points finishes: 12 Stage wins: 24 Power Stage wins: 2

Mikko Hirvonen was vice-champion again in 2012, just like he was in 2011, 2009 and 2008.

Related Articles

The Finn adapted well to life at Citroen following his decision to leave Ford and on occasion - such as in Argentina, New Zealand and Finland - really gave his team-mate, Sebastien Loeb a run for his money.

During the season he took to the podium on ten occasions in total, his victory in Sardinia, matched by second places in Sweden, Mexico, Argentina, Greece, New Zealand and Finland, as well as three third places in Germany, France and Spain.

He also won in Portugal too, only to lose that win when the stewards found irregularities with his Citroen DS3 WRC in post-event scrutineering. It was probably one of the toughest moments of the year for the Finn and it was the only time all season he didn't actually score, although he did struggle to find the pace at times, and in Wales, was particularly lacklustre.

In the end you gave him an average score of 6.311 out of ten - is that a bit harsh? Share your opinions simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below.

Also, don't forget to check back tomorrow to see who has been ranked in fifth place.

Past vote results for Hirvonen:

World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2011: 10th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2010: 10th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2009: 2nd
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2008: 2nd's World Rally Driver of the Year 2012 - results so far:

7. Jari-Matti Latvala 8. Dani Sordo 9. Petter Solberg 10. Ott Tanak