Your Top 10 World Rally Drivers of the Year 2012: 3: Sebastien Ogier

Nationality: French Team: Volkswagen Motorsport Car: Skoda Fabia S2000 Championship position: 10th Points: 41 points (average tally per event: 3.42) Events: 12 (out 13) Wins: 0 Podiums: 0 (in total) Points finishes: 7 Stage wins: 1 Power Stage wins: 0

It was always going to be a transitional year for Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier, given he had to make do with a Skoda Fabia S2000, before the arrival of the Polo R WRC in 2013, however, despite that, the Frenchman still shined.

Indeed he took ten class victories in total, as well as notching up seven top-ten finishes, the only blips coming in Monte Carlo, when he crashed out, and in Spain, when he was sidelined by a mechanical fault.

All-in-all his best results were a sixth place finish overall in Germany and a fifth place overall in Sardinia, the latter a historic achievement, as it is the best position ever achieved by a Super 2000 car in the overall classification of the World Rally Championship.

He was also quickest outright in SS5 in Sardinia too - another 'first' for a Super 2000 car.

Not bad at all then, and while he might not have been fighting it out for wins and the title as he was in 2011, but he still impressed you and in the end you gave him an average mark of 7.493 out of ten, easily giving him 'bronze' in your World Rally Driver of the Year vote.

Do you think that is about right? Share your opinions simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below.

Also, don't forget to check back tomorrow to see who has been ranked in second place.

Past vote results for Ogier:

World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2011: 3rd
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2010: 4th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2009: 8th
World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2008: 4th's World Rally Driver of the Year 2012 - results so far:

4. Craig Breen 5. Andreas Mikkelsen 6. Mikko Hirvonen 7. Jari-Matti Latvala 8. Dani Sordo 9. Petter Solberg 10. Ott Tanak