Prize money added to Rally Class

The WRC's Rally Class will award additional prize money in 2013
Subaru's motorsport division has announced that it will run a new Subaru Challenge Award to reward the two top Subaru Group N cars in each round of the WRC with prize money.

The new deal means that all FIA Rally Class competitors - a one-make series run by Symtech Racing - will also be eligible for the prize.

STI and Symtech Racing agreed terms at the end of 2012 for the highly-competitive Rally Class series to continue for a second consecutive year.

Piloting identical Group N-specification Subaru Imprezas, Rally Class competitors will take on six WRC rounds in 2013: Portugal, Finland, Greece, Germany, France and Spain.

The new Subaru Challenge Award is a 13-round award programme, which will reward the top finishing Subaru crew with 5000 Euros.

This new award scheme will run in addition to Symtech Racing's prize where the overall Rally Class winner will receive four rallies in the 2014 World Rally Championship at the wheel of a Subaru Impreza R4. The runner-up will receive one rally with a Group N Subaru Impreza.

"The 2013 Subaru Challenge Award is another reason why competitors should consider joining this year's Rally Class,” Symtech Racing's Dirk Van der Sluys said. “STI has helped boost our Rally Class package by providing the top two finishing Subaru crews on each round of the WRC with a cash prize.

“No other WRC championship offers prize money in the same way: the new award scheme is a fantastic incentive and we hope that it will encourage more drivers to sign up to this year's Rally Class."

Tagged as: Subaru , Impreza , Rally Class

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Rally Class logo
Teemu Suninen (FIN), Toyota Motorsport [Credit: WRC.com]
RX: World Rallycross, UK talent competition [Credit: FIA World Rallycross media]
James Grint - Albatec Racing
Robin Larsson will campaign a privately-run Audi in the 2015 FIA World Rallycross Championship
Rallye International du Valais, European Rally Championship [Credit: European Rally Championship]
Junior ERC: Chris Ingram, Peugeot UK [Credit: Chris Ingram Rally]
Tuthill Porsche, Circuit of Ireland Rally [Credit: Tuthill Porsche Media]
Volkswagen Motorsport, World Rallycross [Credit: FIA World Rallycross]
Jerome Grosset-Janin - Albatec Peugeot
Jerome Grosset-Janin - Albatec Peugeot
Petter Solberg, James May, Top Gear [Credit: FIA World Rallycross]
Ott Tanak at the finish of Rally Mexico, sporting swimming mask and snorkel. 2015. [Pic credit: M-Sport]
Simone Tempestini (ITA) Matteo Charciossi (ITA), Subaru Impreza
Rally Mexico girls

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.