This year's FIA European Rallycross Championship will see the biggest line-up of permanent Supercar drivers in the series' 40-year history, organisers announced this week.

The number of full-time drivers in this year's competition will be three times that of last season, when only five permanent entries were fielded.

"The core entry of 15 permanent Supercar drivers represents an enormous increase in entry level," said Martin Anayi, Managing Director of RallycrossRX at newly appointed promoters IMG Motorsport.

Related Articles

A valuable high profile new signing for the RX series is the addition of 2003 World Rally Champion Petter Solberg as a full-time entry for all nine rounds of the 2013 season, starting with the March 31 Lydden Hill season opener.

"We are delighted that Petter Solberg has chosen to race in the FIA European Rallycross Championship," said Anayi. "It's great for the championship and will be really interesting to see how the regular guys respond to the challenge of racing against a former World Rally champion."

The current FIA European Rallycross champion Timur Timerzyanov will return to the series for another campaign, as well as the 2012 champions from the Super1600 (Andreas Bakkerud) and TouringCar (Anton Marklund) categories, both of whom are graduating to Supercars in 2013.

Former European champions Mats Lysen, Knut Ove Borseth, Ronny Scheveneels and Michael De Keersmaecker will also be competing for the 2013 title, as well as X Games winner Liam Doran. Also included is 20-year-old Swede Timmy Hansen, who is making a career change from single-seater racing to Rallycross. In total, the 15 full-time entries will represent six different countries and six manufacturer brands, and will include seven current or former FIA Rallycross champions.

"We have put together a top quality entry of permanent drivers in the Supercar category, half of them already proven European champions, who have committed to take part in all rounds of the Championship," said Anayi.

"Even more compelling is the fact that we have more than 15 other guys who want to come in and do more than two events each this year, including some of the biggest names in motor sport," he added. "We have the perfect balance and we cannot wait to feature these guys in our global TV coverage and start delivering a fantastic platform to take RallycrossRX to the next level."

Rising Norwegian star Alex Hvaal, British event winner Andy Scott, former French champion Davey Jeanney and current and former Swedish champions Peter Hedstroem and Stig-Olov Walfridson will also feature in 2013.

"When you look at the permanent driver field RX has and add in the 'wild cards' and local rallycross heroes coming in per event, we see the Championship as becoming a 'must-go-to' event for motor sport fans across Europe in 2013," added Anayi.

FIA European Rallycross Championship 2013

Full-time Supercar entries Andreas Bakkerud, Norway - Citroen DS3 Knut Ove Borseth, Norway - Skoda Fabia Michael De Keersmaecker, Belgium - Ford Focus Liam Doran, Britain - Citroen DS3 Timmy Hansen, Sweden - Citroen DS3 Peter Hedstroem, Sweden - Skoda Fabia Alexander Hvaal, Norway - Citroen DS3 Davy Jeanney, France - Citroen C4 Mats Lysen, Norway - Renault Clio Anton Marklund, Sweden - VW Polo Ronny Scheveneels, Belgium - Peugeot 207 Andy Scott, Britain - Peugeot 208 Petter Solberg, Norway - Citroen DS3 Timur Timerzyanov, Russia - Citroen DS3 Stig-Olov Walfridson, Sweden - Renault Clio

Season calendar Lydden Hill, Great Britain - March 31 Montealegre, Portugal - April 27 2013 Nyriad,- Hungary - May 25 2013 Kouvola, Finland - June 8 2013 Hell, Norway - June 15 2013 Holjes, Sweden - July 16 2013 Loheac, France - August 31 2013 Greinbach, Austria - September 14 2013 Buxtehude, Germany - September 21 2013