ERC Açores 2013: Kubica rolls, drops - but keeps on going

Kubica will be hoping for better conditions on Saturday, when the event The event restarts with the 20.82km Graminhais stage. And although he's leading the event, Kopecky will be hoping for a more comfortable time of it on Saturday as well.

“I was not so concentrated because my crotch strap was not quite in the right position and it was not very comfortable over every jump,” revealed the Czech champion.

“The conditions were very difficult today," he continued. "It's good to be leading but Saturday is the longest of the rally and there are some very tricky stages."

Some of those to have already fallen foul of Rallye Açores include Czech National Team driver Jan Cerny who suffered a fuel injector issue in the morning. Subsequently the front-left of his Skoda Fabia S2000 struck a rock on stage 8.

Meanwhile Mark Wallenwein had a spectacular roll on stage nine in his own Fabia; the car was righted with the help of spectators and he managed to continue, but as a result he dropped from eighth to 19th place and is now a little over 15 minutes off the lead time.

Miguel Barbosa leads the running in the ERC Production Car Cup, after GPD Mit Metal Racing Team's Jaroslav Orsak crashed out on stage eight, while Hannes Danzinger tops the ERC 2WD division thanks to Stéphane Lefebvre dropping on stage 10 as a result of having to repair a belt failure on his Peugeot 208 R2.

Molly Taylor's bid for success in the ERC Ladies' Trophy ended when she got stuck in mud avoiding Jean-Mathieu Leandri's stricken car one kilometre into Sete Cidades, handing the lead to Ekaterina Stratieva. Alessandro Bruschetta is the Napoca Rally Academy's leading runner in 11th.

Top 25 at end of Day 2 (Stage 11)

1. #1 Jan Kopecky Skoda Motorsport 1hr 5mins 11.9secs
2. #2 Craig Breen Peugeot Rally Academy + 13.1secs
3. #8 Bruno Magalhãesecs Peugeot + 33.9secs
4. #6 Ricardo Moura Skoda Fabia + 35.5secs
5. #10 Bernardo Sousa Ford Fiesta + 36.1secs
6. #9 Jérémi Ancian Peugeot Rally Academy + 2:01.0secs
7. #11 Jean-Michel Raoux Peugeot 207 + 4mins 06.2secs
8. #4 Robert Kubica Citroen DS3 + 5mins 10.4secs
9. #18 Miguel Barbosa Mitsubishi Lancer + 6mins 01.6secs
10. #19 Luis Rego Mitsubishi Lancer + 7mins 07.7secs
11. #25 Alex Bruschetta Napoca Rally Team + 7mins 16.5secs
12. #14 Antonin Tlustak GPD Mit Metal Racing Team + 7mins 55.5secs
13. #12 János Puskádi Eurosol Racing Team + 8mins 06.4secs
14. #16 Marco Tempestini Napoca Rally Team + 8mins 09.2secs
15. #29 Hannes Danzinger Renault Clio + 8mins 59.1secs
16. #37 Diogo Gago Monteiros Competições + 11mins 10.5secs
17. #28 Zoltan Bessenyey Eurosol Racing Team + 11mins 33.9secs
18. #27 Luis Mota Competisport + 12mins 59.5secs
19. #7 Mark Wallenwein Skoda Fabia + 15mins 12.8secs
20. #35 Tobia Giuseppe Citroen DS3 + 17mins 47.4s
21. #36 Ekaterina Stratieva Citroen C2 + 18mins 13.9secs
22. #39 Florin Tincescu Dacia Logan + 18mins 16.2secs
23. #43 Rafael Botelho Citroen Saxo Cup + 22mins 06.7secs
24. #42 Claudio Batista Citroen C2 + 22mins 07.4secs
25. #31 Stéphane Lefebvre Peugeot Rally Academy + 25mins 25.8secs

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Skoda`s Jan Kopecky at the Rallye Açores. Friday April 26. (Picture Credit; FIA ERC)
Peugeot`s Craig Breen in action at the Rallye Açores. Friday April 26. (Picture Credit; FIA ERC)
Citroen`s Robert Kubica at the Rallye Açores. Friday April 26. (Picture Credit; FIA ERC)
Gavin Marsh / Mark Thomas Nissan Micra
Gavin Marsh / Mark Thomas Nissan Micra
Alwyn Passant / Denny Harris Ford Escort
Alwyn Passant / Denny Harris Ford Escort
Clare Rix / Rob Cook Ford Ka
Clare Rix / Rob Cook Ford Ka
Ron Hall / Phil Spilsted Ford Escort MkII
Ron Hall / Phil Spilsted Ford Escort MkII
Tony Cawthorne / Rob Smith Peugeot 205 Gti
Tony Cawthorne / Rob Smith Peugeot 205 Gti
David Jones / Iwan Griffith Peugeot 206
David Jones / Iwan Griffith Peugeot 206
David Jones / Iwan Griffith Peugeot 206
Robert Richards / Wendy Gibson Peugeot 106
Caroline Carslaw / John Duke Ford Fiesta ST

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group | Built by Accelerate Agency

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.