The FIA European Rally Championship continues to go from strength to strength with a star-studded entry list for round five, Tour de Corse.

Fifty-eight registrations have been accepted for the island classic from 16-18 May, with rally crews from 18 different countries and 32 undertaking ERC campaigns. The entry is the event's highest since 2008 and demonstrates the continued rise in popularity of the ERC, revamped by new promoter Eurosport Events.

Twenty-three Super 2000 cars will be in action on the 56th running of the legendary rally - which will be shown live on television channels Eurosport and France 3 Corsica - with as many as 10 drivers ranked as contenders for the coveted victory.

They include F1 race winner Robert Kubica, ERC title leader Jan Kopecky, one-time Rallye Monte-Carlo victor Bryan Bouffier, rallying legend Francois Delecour, rising star Craig Breen and Le Mans 24 Hours racer Stephane Sarrazin.

Francois Ribeiro, motorsport development director of Eurosport Events, said: "The entry is not just big in terms of the number of cars, it's also big in terms of the quality of the drivers in action. We expect a very open battle for victory with up to 10 drivers capable of winning. It's also going to be a tremendous spectacle for the fans watching on television with four stages produced for live broadcast by Eurosport Events."

As well as the battle for overall glory, the ERC Production Car Cup and ERC 2WD Championship will be closely fought, while the ERC Ladies' Trophy will be hotly contested. Among those chasing ERC Production Cup honours are Subaru Impreza drivers Andreas Aigner and Marco Tempestini, Mitsubishi Lancer runner Jaroslav Orskak and Team Renault Sport Technologies duo Germain Bonnefis and Robert Consani. Meanwhile Kornel Lukacs, Vasily Gryazin, Slawomir Ogryzek, plus leading ladies Ekaterina Stratieva and Molly Taylor will be in contention for ERC 2WD laurels.

Giru di Corsica-Tour de Corse is affectionately known as the 'Rally of 10,000 Corners' due to the frequency of twists and turns on the demanding asphalt stages. It begins in the coastal town of Calvi on 16 May and finishes in Ajaccio two days later via service halts in Corte.

Related Articles