Rally Finland: 101 crews confirmed on entry list

Massive entry for 'Finnish Grand Prix'
The entry list for Rally Finland, the eighth round in the 2013 FIA World Rally Championship, was announced this week and it includes 101 competitors in total, the most for any single WRC event this year.

The previous best was 73 for the season opening Rallye Monte Carlo, while Rally Mexico was at the other end of the spectrum with just 27. 51 drivers competed on the last event in Sardinia.

In total 14 runners will take in the 'Finnish Grand Prix' from August 1-3 in World Rally Cars and in addition to the usual works drivers - namely Sebastien Ogier, Jari-Matti Latvala, Mikko Hirvonen, Dani Sordo, Mads Ostberg, Evgeny Novikov, Thierry Neuville, Andreas Mikkelsen and Martin Prokop - there will be five other drivers in top spec machinery. As reported on Crash.net on Saturday, Kris Meeke will drive Khalid Al-Qassimi's Citroen DS3 WRC. Per-Gunnar Andersson and Juho Hanninen will both use Ford Fiesta RS WRCs with Jarkko Nikara and Riku Tahko in MINI John Cooper Works WRCs.

Meanwhile there will be 20 runners in WRC2 - including Robert Kubica, Elfyn Evans, Hayden Paddon, Esapekka Lappi, Jari Ketomaa and Juha Salo - and 11 in WRC3. The JWRC also takes in the Jyvaskyla-based event with ten competitors listed.

The notable entries are as follows:

2. Mikko Hirvonen Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC M
3. Dani Sordo Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC M
4. Mads Ostberg Qatar M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC M
5. Evgeny Novikov Qatar M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC M
7. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC M
8. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC M
9. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC
10. Kris Meeke Abu Dhabi Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC M
11. Thierry Neuville Qatar WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC M
21. Martin Prokop Jipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC M
22. Jarkko Nikara Prodrive MINI John Cooper Works WRC
23. Per-Gunnar Andersson Ford Fiesta RS WRC
24. Juho Hanninen Ford Fiesta RS WRC
25. Riku Tahko ST Motors Oy MINI John Cooper Works WRC

The full entry list is available, HERE, while below is a comparison of Finland's entry list to the other WRC rounds this season...

WRC 2013 - Entry numbers round-by-round

Rally Monte Carlo: 73
Rally Sweden: 43
Rally Mexico: 27
Rally de Portugal: 70
Rally Argentina: 32
Acropolis Rally of Greece: 46
Rally d'Italia Sardegna: 51
Rally Finland: 101

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Petter Solberg (NOR) Chris Patterson (GBR), Ford Fiesta WRC, Ford World Rally Team
Mads Ostberg (NOR) Jonas Andersson (SUE), Ford Fiesta RS WRC, M-Sport Stobart Ford World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) Jarmo Lehtinen (FIN), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Rally Finland podium, 2012

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.