WRC 2014 calendar published: Poland in, Acropolis out

World Rally Championship sticks with 13-round schedule; Poland gains place; Acropolis Rally of Greece axed
The 2014 World Rally Championship calendar was published today following a meeting of the World Motor Sport Council in Croatia.

The key change sees Rally Poland brought in, while the Acropolis Rally of Greece, as rumoured, has been sadly axed. Poland was part of the FIA European Rally Championship this season and was also part of the WRC back in 2009.

Other than that the schedule is pretty much the same as in 2013.

Monte Carlo will kick off proceedings in January, before the series heads on to Sweden, Mexico and Portugal.

Argentina then follows, with Sardinia moving to the start of June, and Poland taking place at the end of the same month, although it will be a 'multi-country event' – no further details were given.

Following a month break in July, the second half of the season starts in Finland, before then going to Germany and Australia. New Zealand had originally been scheduled to take place in 2014 as part of a share with Oz, but, as reported on Crash.net earlier this month, NZ has now withdrawn from that process.

France and Spain will again run in October, before the curtain falls – as is generally the norm with the WRC – on Wales Rally GB.

Meanwhile, the FIA added that the European Rally Championship calendar will be proposed to the WMSC at a later date. It was also clarified that the hand-cutting of tyres is forbidden in the events of the FIA European Rally Cup, as well as the FIA European Rally Championship.

The full 2014 WRC calendar is as follows, we have also included the 2013 WRC calendar below for easy comparison...

2014 World Rally Championship calendar:

19 January Rallye Monte Carlo
09 February Rally Sweden
09 March Rally Mexico
06 April Rally de Portugal
11 May Rally Argentina
01 June Rally d'Italia
29 June Rally Poland (multi-country event)
03 August Rally Finland
24 August Rallye Deutschland
14 September Rally Australia
05 October Rallye de France
26 October Rally de Espana
16 November Rally of Great Britain

The finish date given is the Sunday of the rally weekend. Itineraries are however subject to final confirmation by event organisers.

2013 World Rally Championship calendar:

20/01 Rallye Monte Carlo
10/02 Rally Sweden
10/03 Rally Mexico
14/04 Rallye de Portugal
05/05 Rally Argentina
02/06 Acropolis Rally
23/06 Rally d'Italia
04/08 Rally Finland
25/08 Rallye Deutschland
15/09 Rally Australia
06/10 Rallye de France
27/10 Rally de Espana
17/11 Rally of Great Britain

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Podium, Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) Miikka Anttila (FIN), Volkswagen Polo WRC, Volkswagen Motorsport
Sebastien Ogier (F) Julien Ingrassia (F), Volkswagen Polo WRC, Volkswagen Motorsport
Mads Ostberg (NOR) Jonas Andersson (SUE), Ford Fiesta RS WRC, Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team
Molly Taylor. Rally Poland [Pic credit: ERC]
Bryan Bouffier. Peugeot 207 Super 2000. LOTOS 70 Rally Poland. [Pic credit: ERC]
Dominykas Butvilas. Rally Poland [Pic credit: ERC]
WRC flag

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.