Wales Rally GB: Entry list confirmed

65 cars to compete in Wales in total - 12 in WRC-spec machinery
The official entry list for Wales Rally GB has been announced, with 65 cars due to take part in the 2013 WRC season finale next month, more than double the number that took in the event twelve months ago.

All the regular names will be in action – including newly crowned 2013 World Champion Sebastien Ogier, as well as Jari-Matti Latvala, Mikko Hirvonen, Mads Ostberg, Evgeny Novikov, Thierry Neuville, Andreas Mikkelsen, Dani Sordo, Nasser Al-Attiyah and Martin Prokop.

In addition former F1 driver Robert Kubica and Michal Solowow will also run in WRC-specification machinery, taking the total number of World Rally Cars to twelve. Sadly, Kris Meeke has not been given another go in a Citroen DS3 WRC.

In the support categories, GB has attracted 18 WRC2 entrants - with local star and WRC2 regular Elfyn Evans joined by fellow Brits Mark Higgins and Tom Cave - and six WRC3 runners.

“We are thrilled that so many drivers and teams have taken up the challenge,” said Andrew Coe, Chief Executive of International Motor Sports Ltd, the organisers of Wales Rally GB. “The move to north Wales has been enthusiastically endorsed throughout the sport and, once again, that's reflected in this year's superb WRC entry which is double that of 2012. It was our stated ambition to make Wales Rally GB not just a fitting finale to the year long World Rally Championship but also an unmissable opportunity for British drivers to compete at the highest level.

“Looking down what's an exceptional entry, I'm confident we're well down the road to meeting those goals.”

The full entry list is available - HERE, while below is a comparison of WRGB's entry list to the other WRC rounds this season...

WRC 2013 - Entry numbers round-by-round

Rally Monte Carlo: 73
Rally Sweden: 43
Rally Mexico: 27
Rally de Portugal: 70
Rally Argentina: 32
Acropolis Rally of Greece: 46
Rally d'Italia Sardegna: 51
Rally Finland: 101
Rallye Deutschland: 76
Rally Australia: 30
Rallye de France-Alsace: 88
Rally de Espana: 64
Wales Rally GB: 65

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mads Ostberg (NOR) Jonas Andersson (SUE), Ford Fiesta RS WRC, M-Sport Stobart Ford World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MON), Citroën DS3 WRC, Citroën Total World Rally Team
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) Miikka Anttila (FIN), Ford Fiesta RS WRC, Ford World Rally Team

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.