Wales Rally GB: Sordo handed time penalty

Dani Sordo to start Wales Rally GB with a five minute penalty for using a ninth chassis of the year
Dani Sordo's hopes of a strong finish to the World Rally Championship season have been hit by a five minute penalty handed down prior to the start of Wales Rally GB.

The Citroen driver was penalised by stewards after it was revealed that the chassis he will use this weekend will take him above the limit of eight allowed over the course of the season.

In line with the regulations, event stewards have handed down a five minute penalty that the Spaniard will now be forced to carry into the opening stages of the event this evening.

“The stewards received a report from the FIA Technical Delegate stating that the chassis used in car #3 is the ninth chassis used for testing and competing in registered events of the current season,” a statement from the stewards read.

“The stewards consider this is not in compliance with Article 64.4.1 of the 2013 FIA World Rally Championship Sporting Regulations. After hearing the rationale given by the Entrant's representative and in application of Article 64.4.2 of the 2013 FIA World Rally Championship Sporting Regulations, the Stewards after due delibertation decide to impose a time penalty of five minutes on the Entrant of car #3 for non-compliance with Article 64.4 of the 2013 FIA World Rally Championship.”

Sordo and his fellow WRC front-runners are currently running through the qualifying stage at Llandegla before the starting order is revealed in the Deeside Service Park at 13.30 local time.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Dani Sordo, Carlos del Barrio  (Citroen DS3 WRC #3, Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team)
Dani Sordo, Carlos del Barrio  (Citroen DS3 WRC #3, Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team)
Dani Sordo, Carlos del Barrio  (Citroen DS3 WRC #3, Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team)
Volkswagen celebrates 2015 Monte Carlo 1-2-3 [credit: VW Media]
3th place Andreas Mikkelsen ,Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC, #9 Volkswagen Motorsport II)
1st place Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #1, Volkswagen Motorsport)
2n place Jari-Matti Latvala,  Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo WRC #2, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Michelin tyres
Robert Kubica

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.