Wales Rally GB: Ogier opts to start second

Starting order set for day one of Wales Rally GB
Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier has chosen to run second in the order on leg one of Wales Rally GB, which starts this evening.

Ogier got first pick after topping the times in qualifying. Thierry Neuville and Evgeny Novikov then selected to go third and fourth, before Jari-Matti Latvala opted to run first. All the other drivers ended up going for the same positions they qualified in, leaving Michal Solowow last.

“Everyone expected me to go first,” said Ogier with a wry grin. “Second on the road will at least give me the chance to see what happens up ahead.”

"Hopefully tonight in the dark it will not rain too much so the visibility will stay good," he added, "but I proved in Spain I can be fast in these conditions, so hopefully it will be the same today.”

“There have been some exciting choices – it's not a very typical starting selection compared to what we have seen in the past," Latvala continued. "I have been first on the road in the past – even recently in Catalunya – maybe it's something I have to do!”

The event now starts at 19.05 hours local time, with the 6.95 km run through Gwydyr. Tonight's action includes three stages in total – around 25 competitive kilometres.

Wales Rally GB: Day 1 running order:

1. Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC M
2. Sebastien Ogier Volkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC M
3. Thierry Neuville Qatar WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC M
4. Evgeny Novikov Qatar M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC M
5. Mads Ostberg Qatar M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC M
6. Mikko Hirvonen Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC M
7. Robert Kubica Abu Dhabi Citroen Total WRT DS3 WRC M
8. Dani Sordo Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS3 WRC M
9. Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC M
10. Martin Prokop Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC M
11. Michal Solowow Qatar M-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC

all times unofficial

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Sebastien Ogier (FRA) Julien Ingrassia (FRA) Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #8, Volkswagen Motorsport)
Sebastien Ogier, Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo WRC #8, Volkswagen Motorsport)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.